Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 32

    Change of plans

    October 13, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 19 °C

    After walking another fairly short day, 11km, I've finally come to the conclusion that my body is not coping very well with this sudden activity. My ankles are now playing up, possibly due to insufficient support walking in sandals. I've been back in my walking shoes for a couple of days but that hasn't saved them and no matter how short I walk, they continue to get worse, not stronger.

    The Meseta also presents some challenges because it is more remote and has less flexible opportunities for buses, taxis, short walks, etc. So today I've decided to catch a bus to Leon tomorrow accompanied by a bunch of Canadians. My feet need rest again, there is no more hoping another short day will wear them in.

    There are only some locations on the Meseta that I can even access transport to Leon and it would take me three days to get to the next one by which time I could be creating permanent problems rather than a temporary one.

    Given the pace I'm going there's still plenty of distance between Leon and Santiago to keep me busy into November. I'll reassess after a day or two in Leon, where I've booked a spa hotel to help rejuvenate. Whatever walking I can do, there are lots of short day options after Leon.

    Today I passed the ruins of a convent and walked through a river valley full of autumn trees. It was the perfect weather and a gentle breeze blew. This evening I'm in Castrojeriz, another hill town full of character and history.

    I was treated to a really yummy pilgrim dinner of salad with hommus, vegetable paella Palencia style (noodles instead of rice), roast chicken and chocolate mousse. I certainly don't miss cooking dinner.
    Read more