Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 34

    Not another...cathedral

    October 15, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 20 °C

    A few hours on a bus to Leon and a two days of rest hasn't made it any clearer how this journey will end. You all like a bit of mystery and suspense though right.

    An hour and a half of soaking in a spa and sauna was definitely a good use of my time and I had the best night of sleep afterwards.

    I've been a good girl and tried my best to rest up in Leon. I've stocked up on drugs and ankles supports and found some warmer clothes as mornings and evenings can be chilly and hopefully I'll be back in the mountains soon.

    I took a quick tour of Leon cathedral just because it was obvious from the outside that it had so very many huge stained glass panels that I couldn't really miss.

    Leon is also a attractive small liveable city with a nice river and old town centre, plenty of history, art, culture and good food.

    Tomorrow I'm bussing out of the suburbs and trying a short walk to my first stop, with more hopefully manageable walks planned for a few days heading for Astorga. We shall see how that goes. Hopefully my ankle won't get worse. At this rate I'll never make it to Santiago on foot but I'll have fun however far I get.

    I figured out I've walked 280km on the Camino so far. I need to do roughly that again if I'm going to finish on foot. Luckily it was always about the journey, rather than the destination.
    Read more