Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 35

    On the Road Again

    October 16, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 19 °C

    After a breezy 20km bus trip where I waved at the weary pilgrims walking along beside the road, I alighted in Villadangos and walked the final 5km to today's hostel, also along the road and a corn field. My feet and ankles twinged and groaned at even this minor attempt but we arrived in a mentally and physically stable condition, hopeful of achieving a 10km day tomorrow.

    While legend has it that pilgrims bodies (at least ones of average fitness) adjust to the walk by Burgos, almost everyone I saw today looked tired and sore and slow. The Camino is certainly an endurance challenge if that's what your looking for.

    In the distance are the slowly approaching mountains which will see the end of the Meseta and the beginning of Galicia. They are several days away but will be a constant companion this week.

    It was windy and cool walking today, though not unpleasant. I have been lucky so far with rain but this week there are many patches of rain forecast and I suspect I will get very wet more than once. In Leon I stocked up on a couple of warmer bits of clothing in preparation for the cooler, wetter days ahead.
    Read more