Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 75

    To a Grecian Isle

    November 25, 2022 in Greece ⋅ ☀️ 9 °C

    Because I finished my Camino early, I have a few extra days to spend in Greece. I've decided to head to the Greek island of Hydra. It's not too far from Athens, a 2 hour fast hydrofoil trip away.

    Arriving by metro train at the Port of Piraeus, I was reminded that I was close to the famous Greek Islands. I realised half the tourists I'd been wandering around Athens with had arrived here on gigantic cruise ships for their one day Athens stop.

    There were boats and ferries in every direction and it took me a good while to figure out where mine was, even though it wasn't far from the train station. The signage seemed more aimed a cars approaching ferries to the islands than passengers walking.

    I'd come to the port with plenty of time to spare as I like to give myself breathing space when I have no idea how to get around. Once I knew where to catch my boat, I strolled around the port town. It's a very industrial place with a large shopping precinct. I guess many people from all over the Greek Isles would come here to shop on the mainland. There's an Ikea and numerous other shops of every kind. I am enjoying the Christmas decorations popping up all over Europe this time of year as well. I think I'm bringing the Christmas spirit home with me this year.

    I finally boarded my boat and head off across the harbour as the sun set. I stopped briefly at the island of Poros, which I couldn't see in the dark, before pulling into the harbour at Hydra just in time for dinner.

    My accommodation was just a five minute walk away in a traditional Greek island white-washed building. After getting my keys and dumping my bag, I headed back to the foreshore and found a meal of chicken souvlaki that proved be my favourite meal of the whole trip.
    Read more