Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 76

    Hydra, Idra, Ydra pronounced 'eedra'

    November 26, 2022 in Greece ⋅ ☁️ 15 °C

    While I'm a big fan of Mamamia, the Greek Islands have never been on my bucket list so I'm pleased to report that in the off season this Greek Isle is a must see.

    I have thoroughly enjoyed my first day exploring Hydra. In the morning I wandered the lanes and alleyways of the main town and after lunch I headed off to experience the coast.

    The island of Hydra is unique because it does not have any type of motorised vehicle except boats. There are no cars, motor bikes or electric scooters, only horses and donkeys. That makes its streets extra pleasant to stroll around. They are mainly narrow, rarely straight and often stairways.

    Everything is whitewashed, stone or both. Many things are in the blue and white colours of Greece and I wonder what came first, the blue and white houses, the Greek flag or maybe it started with the sky, the ocean and the clouds. However it started, Greece embraces it's blue and white with great pride.

    All the lanes are cobblestone and the houses blend into the rock cliffs of the island. My accommodation is on the second floor of a typical three storey home with the shop at the bottom and the family home on the top. The top is by far the biggest level as the building steps up the rocky hillside.

    There are feral cats everywhere or maybe they are just outside cats, free to wander at will? One of my photos contains no less than eight cats.
    Read more