Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 31

    Friends for life

    January 30, 2023 in Australia

    Heyy guys! Im on the move again so its time for an update. I just finished up in Melbourne and am now on my way back to Sydney. But only for a couple of hours. Getting some stuff done like finally picking up my bank card. And then its of to woy woy. And yes I know that sounds like an asian take out place but its a beautiful spot at a lake further up the east coast. I will settling down there for a total of 7 nights before heading to my new job. THE FARM! Honestly its not that exciting since its just cutting and packaging vegetables but its good money and a good way for me to save up enough money to finally buy my car. Yes I am buying a car. It sounds like a really big thing but its quite common here and I have done my research. I will be using the next 8 days to work on my uni application, more specifically the one for Maastricht and just generally tanking up some energy before the month long work begins. I am meeting a friend on the farm so no worries and if anything seems shady I will be out there in an instant. But I talked to the guy on the phone aswell as over text and he seems very nice. Hopefully I will also curate whatever I caught in Melbourne because unfortunately I have fallen a little ill. Not ideal for the 12 bus ride I am currently on but makes my own room and space at the airbnb i rented even more attractive.
    More to Melbourne though:
    It started off a little iffy. I stayed at a hostel that was mostly packed with workers so there were times I would feel a little uncomfortable. But I made a nice german friend which is also on the bus with me now.
    I got a job at a restaurant and earned a little money, which was phenomenal because hostels are so freaking expensive. Who would have thought.
    After three nights I switched hostels to one that had been recommended to me by friends in Sydney.
    Aand the first nights were not that suuper. I had a mishap with work where I came to work for 5.30 am but was supposed to come at 17.30, the girls from my room were meh and the hostel was so huge that I felt a little overwhelmed with the amount of people that were there. But after three nights I switched rooms and honesty thats probably one of the best things that could have happened to me. I met my new roommate thats actually from sweden (close to Gothenburg;)) and we just clicked. Her name is Elin and honestly it was perfect. We started hanging out and she introduced me to a couple of friends she made the day before. And it went the greatest way from there. We started hanging out everyday and going out with our new friends in the evenings. We just shared the same vibe and it was never exhausting being around her because we could also respect our social battery status etc. One night we met a couple of guys from our hostel and became instang friends and started hanging out with them. And from then on insiders were formed, tooons of laughter exchanged and sooo many memories made.
    It was actually the worst feeling leaving them all today but we all know we will DEFINETLY see each other again and a couple of plans are already in the making...:)))
    I feel like this post is already soo long so Ill just let the pictures attached explain. If any of you guys would like to chat during the upcoming week just text me because I will be way more relaxed and free then, before work starts.
    Miss you guys loads!
    Cheers,
    Amie<3
    Ps I just realised I forgot bunch of things I did so here a summarisation:
    - went to the Australian Open (lile whaaat!?) Saw nadal and Iga<3
    - did a free walking tour and saw the hidden street art gems of Melbourne (can only recommend the organisation)
    - went to brighton beach and got attacked by flesh eating flies...
    - wemt to st kilda beach and didnt get a sunburn! (Old sunburn is still ongoing btw...)
    - I celebrated chinese new year in china town
    - i went to the oldest cafe in Melbourne and had a coffe
    - met my friend from Sydney again and went to a really fancy rooftop bar
    .... thats it for now<3
    Read more