Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Who needs luggage, anyway?

    January 16 in Chile ⋅ 🌬 15 °C

    15.01. 9:00 (CET) 🇩🇪
    And it begins! I spent the weekend with my parents and dad kindly drives me to the airport. We calculate more time than usual, as today is the last day of the farmer's protests that in the last week blocked many streets and motorways all over Germany. Luckily, today they seem to be concentrated in Berlin.
    15.01. 11:15 (CET) 🇩🇪
    I'm at the gate waiting for my flight to take off from Frankfurt. I still have two hours left.
    15.01. 23:15 (CET) 🇨🇦
    First layover: Toronto. I have plenty of time and no hussel, as all I have to do is scan my passport at the automatized check point and walk to my gate (where all German passports are for some reason checked manually as well). My next flight takes off at 00:50.
    16.01. 11:20 (CET) 🇨🇱
    I made it to Chile! I now have a longer layover at Santiago, more than enough time to go through migration, duty control and get my luggage, which I have to drop off manually, as I'm changing to a different airline now. Migration is super relaxed (I almost dare to join the official who is half-dancing to reggaeton music in his booth), then I'm being stopped as a dog detects the smell of an apple in my bag (I ate it shortly before landing to not cause any problems). They let me through. My luggage, however, is nowhere to be seen. Upon request I am told that it got "delayed" and will be delivered to me hopefully within two days. I sincerely hope it'll be quicker, since I only have one day before starting a 5-day hike. I'm glad I took the very basics for this hike with me in my cabin luggage, but still, not having the rest would be pretty inconvenient and potentially rather cold.
    16.01. 17:45 (CET) 🇨🇱
    After chilling with a nice coffee in the sun in between terminals, flight no.3 takes off. The views really compensate for the stress of losing my luggage.
    16.01. 21:00 (CET) 🇨🇱
    3,5 hours in the plane and a 20 min cab ride later, I finally get to Punta Arenas. Local time is 17:00, so I still have a few hours to go before going to sleep.
    Read more