Satelliet
Weergeven op kaart
  • Dag 26

    Paris Part 2

    7 oktober 2022, Frankrijk ⋅ 🌙 14 °C

    Did I mention that the walk to Sacre-Coeur was all uphill? I couldn’t find the funicular so I walked up the steps.

    Next I had registered for a free walking tour. The start point was only one hour away walking, so I walked. At least it was all downhill.

    We met at the Place du Trocadero, and I was the only customer! Unlike Porto, where there were about 15 of us. So I got a private tour by Eloísa, who is from the Philippines but is living in Paris more than ten years.

    It was a lovely tour, lots of views of the Eiffel Tower, we walked along the Seine, through the grounds of the Louvre, across a few bridges. She pointed out many monuments and buildings, and talked about the life in Paris. There is a pedestrian area along the river where many people run, walk, play sports, and just sit. And at night the miniature Eiffel Towers of the street vendors light up, almost like the original.

    Paris is excited to host the Olympics in 2024, so they are making repairs to the Eiffel Tower (scaffolding), and other parts of the city.

    There are your boats on the Seine, restaurants everywhere. The city is so busy. It is Friday evening, but so many people eating out! Do they ever eat at home? Paris is an expensive place to live.

    After the tour I found some food, then walked back to the hotel. So I walked as much as a Camino day 😎.
    Meer informatie