Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 27

    Sayonara Japan

    May 23, 2017 in Japan ⋅ ☀️ 21 °C

    My last day in Japan was spent back in Tokyo, mainly in picking up the formal wedding suit I ordered on my way in... I'm going to look like a right penguin :-)

    Also went out and explored the city at night and had some wonderful Sushimi and Sushi at a small restaurant tucked away on a side street... absolutely amazing. Love japanese food but now after so many weeks in Japan I will never be able to eat what passes for Japanese food in the west. Most of the so called Sushi shops in NZ and elsewhere are actually run by Chinese who know that they can charge a premiuim over cheap Chinese food.

    Saw the Tokyo Tower all lit up with Zozoji Temple dark in the foreground. Saw Mario Cart racers screaming around the streets drivers all kitted out in costume. Saw flowers and Shrines and illuminated temples and buildings. Tokyo, and Japan in general, is so safe clean and the people so friendly and respectful thatI can sefely say it is the safest and claenest country I have ever travelled in. Reminds me a lot of Switzerland of all places. Maybe also because the splendour of nature is so ever present; mountains and forests cover about 80% of Japans land and the 120 million people live crammed together in the remaining 20%.

    The transport systems are amazing, the cities vibrant and clean, the people friendly and the sights to be seen are spectacular!

    Japan, I will miss you!

    But I'm sure I'll be back soon :-)
    Read more