Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 188

    The Hungry Games

    November 10, 2015 in Mexico ⋅ ⛅ 29 °C

    We awoke early and both read for a while. I had started the first of the Hunger Games trilogy last night, which has me gripped already. Anna took advantage of the free coffee in the hotel, then we had breakfast at a little shack: a big plate of fruit, yoghurt and granola each (50P each), followed by a coconut each (30P, talked down from 40).

    We went back to the room and read some more. Anna had cramps and insatiable hunger so she soon sent me out to find chocolate, which was a longer mission than I had anticipated as the first two shops I tried were rammed full of people. A lot of people come for just the day and as our hotel is opposite the ferry and very near the beach the shops seem to get a lot of traffic.

    Once Anna was partially-sated, she slept for quite a while. Then we went to the beautiful white sand beach and lay in the shade of some palm trees until it had cooled down a bit. After a dip in the sea we lay reading in the late sun - perfect temperature! Two guys came over and said something about having too many before putting a can of beer next to each of us and walking away! Anna happily drank both. This was after she’d been ‘phwoared’ at by a different man - I better keep her on a tight lead!

    After the sun set and I'd finished my book, we went for a short walk and then back to the room as I had a tummy ache. We went out for a quick falafel wrap (75P each) at a tiny place called Chahad and listened to some lovely live music from a nearby bar. We then returned to the room as my tummy felt like it might pop! Anna went to the shops to buy more chocolate, which I helped her eat as I felt better once lying down! I finally managed to upload some photos to the blog - wifi here and in Holbox is only available in the common areas and isn't great but at least here we can use it without getting eaten alive!
    Then it was time to start on the second book.

    In good news we found another ice cream shop - same brand as in Tulum, but in bad news they don't have the spicy chocolate flavour...still plenty more flavours to try tomorrow :)
    Read more