Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Breakfast in Dallas

    November 4, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 55 °F

    This is the 2nd post I am writing this morning. The 1st was while I was waiting
    for the Japan Airlines counter to open. I had only a cup of coffee and cold medicine, and I was grumpy. Then I felt guilty for feeling grumpy, but felt better after I wrote about it. So I guess the 1st draft was meant for me.
    I’m tired, have a wicked head cold and that little voice in my head is asking me what the hell are we about to go do? Japan? Alone?
    But I want to take the bullet trains. I found out Coldplay was playing 2 nights in Tokyo when I am going to be there- and I actually got tickets for both nights!! And because I didn’t think I would be able to get them (through the Japanese lottery system) I scheduled a side trip to Kaohsiung Taiwan, where they are playing 2 nights and I got tickets for both of those shows!🤦‍♀️
    So yes, your math is right. I’m going to see 4 Coldplay concerts. And I’m really excited.
    And I want to eat lots of ramen and take lots of trains and sing my heart out to my favorite band of the last 20 years.
    So yes, little shitty scared voice. We are going on an adventure.
    So I just finished breakfast in the Amex Centurion lounge. It was nice, but the business class lounges are better. They had Cherry Grits. The accompaniments were sweet, and I’m a savory grits kind of girl. But everything was delicious, the chairs are comfy and they ID everyone who comes in, so it feels a bit safer. I’m sure it’s not, but it’s nice. The amount of people drinking their breakfast (open bar) astounds me, and I’m grateful I’m not in danger of missing my flight because I’m plastered.
    I’m really giving myself permission to bumble and fumble around Japan. Allowing myself to go with the flow. Even if my plans change. Who cares, Im truly on a bucket list trip. And I never ever dreamed I’d get to see Coldplay in Tokyo. That has never been on any list, it just seemed too far fetched.
    So I’ll amble down to my gate, find a neck pillow and settle in for a looooong (13 hr) flight direct to Tokyo.
    Read more