Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    1st night in tokyo

    November 5, 2023 in Japan ⋅ 🌙 68 °F

    The flight was great. I flew Japan Airlines in premium economy and it was very nice. Noise cancelling headphones, really good food, comfortable seats and a nice woman next to me made it rather enjoyable.
    The feed you about an hour after take off, then dim the lights for 6 hrs, turn up the lights to feed everyone a snack, then dim them for another 4. They feed you again 2 hrs before you land, and would pass out coffee and hot green tea.
    I had a few things to get after we landed and before I left the airport. All of that went smoothly. The Japanese have really made an effort to be helpful getting the foreign tourists what they need and on their way. The other thing I wanted to do, was get my 2 Coldplay tickets before I left. See, you have a voucher and you turn it in to any 7-11, and they print out the tickets. It’s on of the things I e been most nervous about doing. (What if they didn’t understand me? What if it was this whole long process that I didn’t understand and I held up the line, and people started rolling there eyes, and the clearly were mean to me? )
    So my thought was, a 7-11 at the International arrival terminal would be the best chance be able to communicate clearly. I found the 7-11, have the vouchers up on my phone ( My phone will automatically translate Japanese into English for me so I had to keep switching it back, lol) showed to to the girl, she nodded, scanned them and gave me my tickets!!!! I was so excited, I literally hopped up and down clapping my hands together quietly with this HUGE smile on my face. She laughed and I was on my way.
    I told Mom before I left, the only thing I really wanted to go well on this trip was getting these tickets and seeing these shows. If it all fell apart I could just ride the trains around the country. And having to get the tickets once I got here, was super uncharted territory.
    Now I have my pocket WiFi, my train pass, my Coldplay tickets , and my SUICA card ( a card you put money on to ride subways trains buses, use at vending machines and some convenience stores). So I was ready to get into Tokyo. I packed more on this trip than usual. I have 2 24 inch and 1 18 inch suitcases with me. They are about 1/2 packed each so I have room for things I find here.
    I will be in heat in Taiwan and super cold in Way Northern Japan and wanted to take what I wanted to. Also, they have luggage shipping around country. Instead of lugging all your shit onto the train, you ship it from city to city as you travel. So I figure I can ship the 2 bigger bags and carry the 18’ around with me and repack as my needs change. People say it’s easy, reliable and very affordable. So we will see how all of that goes. But in the mean time, I had to get 3 suitcases to my hotel. I had looked up all the options and figured I could decide when I got in. I decided on a train line that was a straight shot, rapid express to my hotel’s neighborhood then a 5 minute walk. Pretty straightforward and my courage was way up because I had just gotten those tickets.
    So I look to see what train I need and it pulls up, I check the sign on the train, it says in English the line I need so I hop on and go.
    Just as I’m getting on the train, a man stops me and asks “Wait, where is it you are going?” I tell him the Ginza neighborhood and he looks at the same train sign I did and says”Ok yes good. “. So I figure I’m (literally) on the right track.
    I’m so glad of my experiences in NYC. Holding on to the strap while managing 3 roller suitcases is not for sissies. As we go, I’m noticing we stop a lot ( more like a local train) and I’m not recognizing any of the stops ahead of us. Have faith, trust the process, I tell myself. I get a seat, and able to hold onto to the suitcases easier and I pull out my phone. (This is why you HAVE to get your phone data/WIFI situation handled before you leave the airport, if you aren’t being picked up by a car)
    So I’m checking the map and we are going in the opposite direction of Tokyo. 🤦‍♀️
    I’m like ok, don’t panic, get off and go back the other way. We are in Japan, not Miami, this is a good place to blunder.
    I get off at the next station. I find a station worker/security guy and ask him “Tokyo?” He points to the other side of the tracks heading north. So I start over there. But there are stairs. Which is why I liked the straight shot train idea to my hotel neighborhood, no stairs. So I schlep 2 suitcase down the stairs and go back for the other one. As I’m about to go up the stairs on the other side, another train police man offered to help me. He takes one bag and I take the other 2. “Adventures in Japan, Caroline, You are getting your Adventure in Japan” I mutter as I’m going up the stairs.
    So once on the proper platform, I can check Google maps and see where I am and how to get where I need to go. Google maps is exceptional in Japan with train schedules and every thing is very punctual.
    So I see I’m on the right track line, I just went the wrong way. And literally in 5 minutes the limited express train is coming. And it did. And I got on. Going the right way. Phew!!
    It took longer than 5 minutes to find my hotel, but I found in 10, and I have the tiniest room I’ve ever seen and it is perfect. The bathroom is nice and it is exactly what I need.
    This morning , I’m going down to breakfast. I’m going to have an easy morning , check out the neighborhood and rest up for the 1st show tonight. I’m so excited. I can’t believe I’m going to be seeing them tonight. And tomorrow!!
    Read more