Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Coldplay night 1 Monday

    November 6, 2023 in Japan ⋅ 🌬 72 °F

    I went down to breakfast at my hotel this morning. It was a Japanese breakfast, with fish, veggies, rice, miso soup, and several other things. They have a plate with 9 small little sections. So you can have a little of everything. I didn’t take my camera down this morning , but I will tomorrow. The dining room was very quiet , and it seemed to be mostly Japanese with a few Westerners sprinkled in.
    After breakfast, I went back to my room and went back to sleep. I pulled the blackout shades closed and did not set an alarm. I told myself I could sleep as long as I needed. It was wonderful. I woke up at about 2 pm and felt rested.
    I hung around the room until 5:30 when it was time to go to the Tokyo Dome.
    The train stations can be very confusing. I’m glad I watched a few YouTube videos on it. Google maps really helps, you just have to take your time.
    One YouTube family said”Don’t try and remember the names of the stops. Each stop on each line has a number use the number system.” So the M line that goes north and south has stops 1-25. And the signs in the station that point you in the right direction use that system too. I am finding it’s a much easier way. Also, with pocket WiFi you can use Google maps underground, thank goodness.
    And I am amazed at how clean and safe there subway systems are. I mean clean! And I must have walked for 20 minutes through the underground corridors last night. Not once was I afraid. I reminded myself to not get complacent and stay aware, but never once was I afraid to walk a long stretch of corridor with only a few people.
    I got to the Tokyo Dome easily. I had noticed that I wasn’t really nervous heading to the venue. And normally I am. Maybe it’s because from all the work I’ve done getting these tickets, I had really just allowed myself to enjoy the moment. And after taking the right train the wrong way, I was very keen on checking for the correct platform #.
    I got there 1/2 way through the opening band, a very popular Japanese band called YAOSOBI. I had actually listened to them before I left, so I got to enjoy their last few songs. I had no clue how to read my ticket or where my seat was. But they had so many guides there. It took me about 20 minutes to figure out where I was to be, but it was perfect. I found my seat after YAOSOBI finished. I was sitting between 2 brothers and their Dad, and 2 Korean girls.
    I had never wanted to go to a concert alone until now. I loved the band more than I cared what people may or may not think. And people really aren’t paying attention to me. They are so concerned with themselves. It’s very freeing.
    So Coldplay started and they were fantastic. Chris Martin was very aware that he was speaking English and the crowd may not understand what he was saying. He did speak a little Japanese he said he had been learning and the crowd loved it.
    I got to sing along to all the songs And it was neat being with such a different audience. I did see some Westerners there. There was actually a huge variety of people there. It was really something.
    Getting home wasn’t bad. I followed the crowd to a metro station further away from the venue and took a train or 2 to get back to my neighborhood. All of the Japanese business-people were running to catch the last trains out of Tokyo and there were Coldplay fans (in their tour shirts) everywhere.
    I stopped off at the convenience store I went to last night and got cold noodles for a late supper.
    All in all it was a great night. At one point before the show started; I really soaked in the fact that I was sitting in my seat at the 1st night in Tokyo. I was there. I had done it. And I get to do it all over again tomorrow night.
    Read more