Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Food

    June 15, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 68 °F

    Cousin Russ wrote that he thought he was gaining weight reading about our food experiences. Well, it’s a good thing we’re walking so much!

    What I’d read: meager breakfast, big meal at noon, pilgrim dinner (lower quality, lesser choices).

    Our experience: fresh-squeezed orange juice along with a fresh-baked, French-quality croissant, often with Spanish ham and cheese. Meager? Yeah, right! We’ll often grab a sandwich for lunch since we’re still walking and don’t want to fill up, but even then it’s Spanish ham and cheese on a French baguette. Ooh la la! And dinners! Three courses and the first course (often a salad for me) is usually as much as I would eat for an entire dinner at home. I feel bad leaving half of a course, but I simply can’t eat all of it!

    Again, it’s a good thing we’re walking!
    Read more