Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    Lavaland RV park, Grants, New Mexico

    March 3, 2017 in the United States ⋅ 🌙 45 °F

    So this is where I am camping tonight. My sister used to live in Grants and I made a run to Walmart and it brought back memories. This is a funky town. But all said the people are very nice and the campsite has wifi, electricity and cable tv. To bad I did not bring a tv. my site overlooks the interstate but not close enough to be noisy, but the lights on all of the vehicles going by are almost like tv. I learned something about myself today. I checked out the free campsite I was going to stay at but of course it has no amenities. I actually drove by it and found out that it was 15 miles off of the highway, in the woods and there was no one else there. I decided I was not that brave and decided to pay for amenities. Yes I am getting soft in my old age. But I can leave the trailer here while exploring El Morro and El Malpais. Plus they have showers and a tv lounge if I really get desperate. The weather is perfect, 58 and sunny in the afternoon and 30 at 6 am in the morning. Clear and bright. Went through 3 layers of clothes between 6:30 am and 11am. But is great for hiking.Read more