Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 57

    Langkawi -> Penang

    January 10, 2023 in Malaysia ⋅ 🌧 25 °C

    6 a.m. - Lars, one of the guys I spent my last days with, and I woke up and got ready for the pick up to the airport.

    8 a.m. - We departure to Penang. After a 25min flight and a good nap for me we arrived there.

    9 a.m. - We took the public bus to Georgetown where our hostel was located. The bus was really cheap but it also took some time. Probably longer than the flight.

    10 a.m. - We arrived at the hostel dropped our backpacks there and searched for some breakfast. Suddenly we met Lea and Femke again. They stayed in the same hostel as we in Langkawi and asked us if we wanted to join them for a hike in the afternoon.

    12:30 p.m. - We rented a scooter and drove along the coast to the nationalpark where we all met up. We hiked trough the jungle to a lake but unfortunately there was no water and to the turtle beach but there it was forbidden to swim because of the current and positing jellyfish. Furthermore some people already died here. So we continued hiking to another beach. On our way we saw some monkeys, a big ass lizard and a weird species of a squirrel. When we arrived at the other beach we reckoned that it also was forbidden to swim because of the same reasons. But the rangers there said it is alright if we go just hip deep in the water. We all were so glad because the hike was exhausting and the water really refreshing. So we hanged out at the beach and suddenly I saw my first otter in the wild. Later we asked the rangers if we could get a boat back because nobody wanted to walk another 2h back and the said its possible but when we asked for the boat they had no service to call it. They tried it at least for 20min and I already gave up but somehow the figured it out and a boat picked us up.

    6:30 p.m. - We arrived at the entry again and drove back to the hostel. On our way back we stopped at an Indian restaurant where we got a delicious dinner.

    9 p.m. - Back in the hostel I took a deserved shower and relaxed a bit.

    10 p.m. - Later met up with the others for some drinks and played some cards but it was a long day so I left earlier to get some rest.

    Summary:
    Langkawi was my first stop in Malaysia and I needed to get used to the new currency a bit different food and the language. But it’s not very different from Thailand. There is definitely a lot to do but I almost did all of the provided activities in Thailand and I don’t need to see three different mangrove woods. You can also explore a lot by yourself because the island is big enough. The food wasn’t that great all the time except of the places Mark recommended. But the hostel was very nice and social. I met so many amazing people there so it’s defensive my highlight and the reason why I enjoyed Langkawi.
    Read more