Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 60

    Penang -> Ipoh

    January 13, 2023 in Malaysia ⋅ ⛅ 23 °C

    8 a.m. - Lars and I took our backpack and walked 15min to the bus station.

    9:15 a.m. - We departure to Ipoh and had a comfortable bus so I slept almost the hole drive.

    1 p.m. - It took unexpected long to arrive in Ipoh but we made it. After we dropped our bags and in the hostel we got some good coffee but a very bad lunch. I got some sort of noodle soup with beef but it didn’t tasted well. Furthermore the beef looked weird and had a lot of fat which I absolutely don’t like.

    3 p.m. - Later we explored the old town and visited the amazing street art places. Suddenly I found a gorgeous white cat with blue and green eyes. I was fascinated. Afterwards we made a coffee break and I got a fancy iced caramel latte and a good coconut ice cream. Then we went to the Concubine Lane the touristic street with a lot of souvenir shops and I bought Uno Flip. On our way to the hostel we found a really cool “nerd store” with a lot of cool games, cards and action figures. I loved it.

    8 p.m. - In the evening we met up with Lea, Femke and Eli for dinner. A guy in our hostel recommended us a restaurant so we went there and got amazing food but I have no idea what the name of the dish was. Afterwards I went to a small candy shop where I bought some nice candy’s and walked troughs the nightmarket. Furthermore we found a cool vintage store with a lot of records, old filme cameras and clothes but unfortunately I don’t have the money and space in my backpack for these things. Later we went to the hostel of the others and started a game night. We bought some snacks and beer before and I learned a new game. I really enjoyed nights like these and I definitely have to by the game we played when I am back home.

    Summary:
    Georgetown thats where I stayed in Penang is a city with a beautiful vibe. I loved just to walk around, look at the buildings and the amazing street art. Even the fire department looks amazing. Furthermore you have a lot of amazing food places. You can literally just eat the hole day. They also have a nationalpark where you can do some hikes by yourself. It’s more a chilled city but there is definitely enough to explore.
    Read more