Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 73

    Kota Kinabalu

    January 26, 2023 in Malaysia ⋅ ☁️ 28 °C

    11 a.m. - It is always a challenge to find vegetarian food for our veggies so we walked quite long until we found a breakfast place. I recognized that the english level in Kota Kinabalu isn’t that high. Furthermore I had the feeling that they haven’t seen many european people because we got all the attention and they took some photos with us. On the way back we discovered slums. We decided to walked trough and it was hard to see how the life. Especially the huge amount of plastic trash there and the contrast to the skyscrapers. They were all very friendly and I had some nice little chat’s. Moreover I got besieged for all the kids and could barley move. Was definitely crazy to see.

    1:30 p.m. - In the afternoon we wanted to go to the Kota Kinabalu park where also the highest mountain of Malaysia Mt. Kinabalu (4095m) is. My actual plan was to climb the mountain but it is way to expensive so we wanted to do some smaller hikes by ourselves. Unfortunately we could not figure out how to get there and the time was very short as well. Instead we went to our huge infinity pool on the roof top and chilled there.

    4 p.m. - In the afternoon we went for some coffee and snacks.

    7 p.m. - For dinner we went to a huge market local market where they sell fresh fruits, vegetables, fish and meat. I really don’t know what to say that they sell sharks, puffer fish and mantas. Furthermore the had some food stalls and we got dinner in one if them. Eli and I decided to get some squid’s and a fish from the BBQ with some vegetables and rice. Back home I would easily pay 30-40€ for this meal and I just paid 10€ and it was amazing.

    P.S.: Some of the locals of the market called me Justin Bieber. Furthermore our toilet got a defect and it wasn’t possible to flush so it was a bit nasty.
    Read more