Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 246

    Bam

    December 27, 2019 in Iran ⋅ 🌙 9 °C

    Next stop on my trip is the ancient city of Bam, which had been nearly completely distroyed by an earthquake 2003 which killed more than 26,000 people. The main attraction there is the citadel which is still in the process to being reconstructed, however parts of it can be already visited.
    When presenting herself in public woman has to dress appropriately including of course at least a shawl if not a chador. I really don't know how these iranian woman manage, with these masses of cloth, shopping bags and children. I quite often get tangled up with shawl, key chain that I have around my neck to prevent then from getting lost, a dog leash somewhwere and strap of shoulder bag. This happened to me again today just in front of the citadelle. Here I am trying to untangle this mess, when an Iranian woman steps up to me, finds the end of my shawl and the beginning , artfully arranges it around my head and neck, gives me a kiss on my left cheek, then on my right, then on my left again, puts her hand to her heart, disappears with a Khoda-hafez and leaves me with a warm feeling and a big, happy smile on my face.
    Read more