Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 248

    Change of Career?

    December 29, 2019 in Iran ⋅ ☀️ 14 °C

    A while back Jutta asked me what I wanted to become when I was a girl. I had to think a while until I remembered. A Harems lady! That's what I wanted to be. No more cleaning a millepied worth of shoes on Saturday, no more raking up leaves in autumn, no more depitting of tonnes of plums to make jam. I imagined myself sitting on a pretty fountain in a picturesque oasis, a little bird chirping in the palms, riding on a racey horse through the desert, hunting with falcons.... that's what Harem's Ladies do isn't it?
    Today I was able to add another facet to this dream: being spoiled in a turkish hammam. Or Iranian for that matter.
    Right after arriving in Shiraz, Hojat my Shirazi friend and I drove to a neighboring town where his sister manages a Turkish Hamam.
    There I was allocated a personal attendant, who led me into a steam room where I was steamed up, left to rest, scrubbed, doused with refreshing water, not too cold, not too warm, some more rest, scrubbed again, credenced some aromatic water, peeled, oiled, massaged, some more rest.... and once done, some nice lunch of Leyla made Kebabs. Hers are the best! Heaven!!! All those muscles tortured during the many months of driving, were gently persuaded to relax back into their designed position, my skin spoiled into babylike smoothness, and my thoughts lazily returned into the harems world of my childhood and came to the conclusion that somewhere at some point in my life I must have taken a wrong turn. Otherwise why have I turned out to be a Safety Advisor?!
    Read more