Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 590

    Riyadh

    December 5, 2020 in Saudi Arabia ⋅ ☀️ 25 °C

    Riyadh
    Even when you travel everyday life doesn’t leave you alone. You have to do the tax, worry about health insurance and car registration, all that mundane stuff you wish you could leave behind. And another thing will eventually catch up with you: your teeth demand to be taken care of. There will be no better place than Riyadh to look into my hurting tooth. And low and behold, the diagnosis is I need a new crown, a new bridge and a few root canal treatments. Hurray! Thank goodness I have friends in this city who will take me up for a few days. You will remember the generous family, who last year, offered us stranded travelers their house in Al Baha, where I was able to stay for 2 months. Again, they gave me their helping hand.
    So my journeys in the next few weeks, depended on the intervals between the treatments and always led me back to Riyadh. I met some very nice people on these trips with some of those I stayed as well in Riyadh. So the dental nuisance had some very comforting and loving side effects, thanks to Rasheed’s family, Margarita and Osama and Mahmet, and drastically changed my perception of Riyadh. It was not just a big City anymore, but turned into a place with friends who welcomed me with open arms and made me feel loved.
    Finally, on the 10th of January I could continue my journey untethered by dental commitments.
     
    Read more