Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Supertrees and Oh No!

    January 13 in Singapore ⋅ 🌧 29 °C

    We have settled into a routine of resting up in the afternoon so come 5:00 we head out. We are off to see the Supertrees that we called off yesterday because of the weather.

    Changing from bus to train at Dakota to join the Circle line we are firstly confused as there are no trains heading to Bayfront, then discover that at certain times this is not a direct route and we must change trains at Promenade. The trains coming through are all packed and we almost chicken out again but we adjust our demeanour and brace ourselves. At Stadium the train empties. Who's in town?

    The walk from Bayfront station to the Gardens by the Bay is well signposted and straightforward and goes via a wide tunnel with mirrored walls which amplifies the effect. Young dancers congregate to utilise the mirrors as they video their moves. At this point we decide it would be a great idea to video the walk. Just as I am attempting to mount the phone onto the gimbal it slips from my hands and lands jarringly, corner first onto the hard paved floor. And the devastating damage is immediately clear. I am able to access the camera but nothing else. Part of the screen is completely black, while some is affected by stripy lines so I am unable to see my battery level.

    We make our way to the Supertrees Grove all the same and for as long as I can take photos and video I will do so. I manage to film the entire sound and light show but I have no idea if I will be able to retrieve it or not.

    It's a long trip home moving along with the crowds which gradually disperse in different directions. We decide to stop at the Old Railway Food Centre once again and this time we queue for the Fried Kway Teow, an egg noodle dish with prawns that I am familiar with, followed by coral weed mango dessert, one I am definitely not familiar with.
    Read more