Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 29

    Cruising. Inelegantly.

    February 8 in Malaysia ⋅ ⛅ 32 °C

    Our new apartment is on the first floor of a resort style complex with palm trees and a series of pools at the centre. Part of the complex is a hotel which is currently closed. There is also a minimart, closed, and a gym, closed. We are across the road from a large mall, the one in fact where we watched the Chinese New Year events a few days ago. The apartment itself is actually someone’s home, vacated for our stay, so it’s very homey.

    We been left an assortment of bakery items as well as a rather impressive cake topped with fruit in the fridge. The bed has been attacked with kitsch, including rose petals and balloons.

    All of this of course was discovered yesterday on arrival but as I am still recovering from gastro I barely managed to watch a bit of TV and crawl into bed. We are relieved to learn that the Airbnb listing inaccurately described the property as having no wifi.

    I rise early to deliver a less than perfect livestream and we head out for a breakfast I have no enthusiasm for. Still haven’t found a neighbourhood fruit market.

    Our plan for this evening is to head across the road to the food court for an early dinner before making our way to the river to join a sunset river cruise. It’s all walkable, just two short legs.

    After trying four places I manage to get a chicken and vegetable soup which was exactly what I needed. Light and gentle on the stomach.

    We head off in the direction of the river cruise ticket office, cross the busy road, weave our way through a car park and a park, step down onto the road to avoid an obstacle and down I went! Well this good, isn’t it! I test my ankle which is ballooning beautifully and decide I can walk on it. It’s about 200 metres.

    We did the river cruise which was lovely, then take a Grab back home. By this time I’m in a fair bit of pain and barely hobbling to get from the car to the apartment. All we have is a cold tin of iced coffee. It will have to do.
    Read more