Satellite
Show on map
  • Getting Ready

    September 2, 2023 in Greece ⋅ ☀️ 84 °F

    Time for another Camino!

    In 2021, I walked the Camino Frances about 800 km/500 miles, from St Jean Pied de Port, France to Santiago de Compostela, Spain.

    On Tuesday, September 5, I’ll be leaving for Lisbon, Portugal. On Saturday, September 9, I will begin walking the Camino Portuguese, from Lisbon to Santiago. Approximately 640 km/400 miles.

    The attached map shows four main routes. I will follow:
    = Leaving Lisbon on the Red/Camino Central all the way to Porto
    = Leaving Porto will take the Blue/Senda Litoral (along the coast) for 1.5 days
    = 10km/6.2 miles after Labruge, I will cut inland and join the Red/Central at Sao Pedro de Rates.
    = Cross the border into Spain at Tui.
    = Stay on Red/Central all the way to Pontevedra
    = At Pontevedra switch to the Purple/Variante Espiritual
    = At Padron back on the Red/Central into Santiago de Compostela, Spain

    So about 85% of the walk will be in Portugal. I’ve never been to Portugal, so am excited to experience the culture and people. Plus meeting other pilgrims!

    I am planning to post on most days, so if you choose, go on the journey with me. Keep me in your thoughts for a safe & healthy pilgrimage.

    Bom Caminho/ Buen Camino

    Note: you do NOT have to register (get an account) to view my posts. You will not be able to make comments. If you are on Facebook, I’ll be posting same narrative, but more photos. Search for Lynne Nitschke Newark
    Read more