Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Being a Tourist in Lisboa

    September 5, 2023 in Portugal ⋅ ⛅ 77 °F

    Hola from Lisboa! Before I start walking the Caminho Portuguese, I’ve been playing tourist. What a busy city. Locals are very friendly. Getting around I’ve mainly relied on my two feet, but have used the metro/buses, which is very easy to use. A lot of hills. All sidewalks are cobblestone, plus most of the older streets. Have not seen anyone wearing high heels!

    Instead of going into all that I’ve seen I’ll touch on highlights. Checkout the Sandemans New Europe www.newEuropetours.eu they have free walking tours not only in Lisbon. The guide Bruno was excellent. You should put seeing a Fado show on your list. I did a simple ‘Get Your Guide’, 50 minute program with two singers & 2 guitarists. Simple but excellent.

    Not sure how many photos I’ve taken, but those I’ve attached have captions to give more info.

    Tomorrow, Saturday, I start walking. Thursday I did 10km/6.2 miles of the route, so I’m not starting out with a 32.7km day. Late morning I will take the metro to the point I stopped on Thursday.

    Enjoy & welcome to the journey. Bom Caminho.
    Read more