Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Wonderful colorful money

    October 13, 2023 in Costa Rica ⋅ ☁️ 21 °C

    So finally after 5 hours I arrived in San José. The hotel is like a labyrinth 😍, I will post some pictures tomorrow. But before I spend all my money tomorrow on the market I need to show it to you, since it is wonderfully colorful with a lot of animals on it 🦥🦈🦌🐒🐢🐠🦜🦀.

    The official currency of Costa Rica is the colon. You can often pay with US dollars here, but what you get back is in colones.

    The colon was introduced in 1897 and replaced the peso. It was first divided into 100 centimos, from 1917 to 1919 into 100 centavos, and then again into centimos. The currency symbol is ₡.

    It was named after Christopher Columbus, whose name in Spanish is Cristóbal Colón.

    So see yourself, the notes are really colorful and there are animals on them everywhere - I definitely love ❤️ this money...
    Read more