Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Athens

    April 6, 2017 in Greece ⋅ ☀️ 19 °C

    We woke early today - 7ish and just lounged around until about 8:30 when we left to find somewhere for breakfast.
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY WILLIAM! the birthday boy chose McDonald's ( no complaints from me ) we both got Big Macs :D afterwards we headed off in search of the national archaeological museum. We got a little lost..
    Their signage is honestly terrible. What was weird though is that our both our phones location worked when using maps even though neither of us have SIM cards. It came in handy though because we could figure out if we were walking down the street the wrong way - which we did, many times. After a lot of searching we found it. Just outside the entrance was a big bus full of policemen. We wondered if they were expecting a riot or something because they had the shields too.
    We went inside and goodness gracious there was a lot of school classes. We managed though.
    The sculptures were awesome! So detailed and well preserved considering just how old some of them were. We stumbled across a little ancient Egypt section and even though it shouldn't be (because we are in Greece), it was my favorite part. I think maybe because I don't know Greek history well at all so again, I didn't fully comprehend what I as looking at other than impressive artworks. Still, I enjoyed it.
    There was 2 skeletons on display which I also enjoyed.
    Me and Will both agreed that when we are billionaires we are going to buy a lot of pots and artworks. He said this and yet when I bought a little pot in the gift shop he went back on his word. Tough titties, William.
    We also saw what's considered to be 'the first computer' - it was the first clock/calendar that didn't rely on the sun.
    Didn't fully understand it but apparently it's significant and worth noting :)

    Next we just explored the streets looking for somewhere to have lunch. Will is really lucking out with his food choices, his burger meat was basically raw mince and made him feel sick. My food was great :) heh while at the resturant we used the wifi to find the location of a monstrous hill that apparently has terrific views of Athens at the top and a church. It's supposedly where Athena lost her wings.

    My god it was steep! We walked up these suspicious looking paths and the only reason I kept going was because they had bins set up which made it seem more legit, lol.
    I nearly stepped on a tortoise along the way, it was a cute! Stupid Joshua, why is he a turtle and not a tortoise?
    He was a little shy at first but then started munching on some leaves :)
    We kept going - thighs burning at this point - until we reached a bench where we took some photos and noticed that many people had graffitied their names into the cactus leaves, so of course we did too. We wrote A+W <3 cause we are gay.
    The cactus had a lot of juice and I pricked myself. Serves me right really.
    When we FINALLY reached the top the view was spectacular. Athens itself is quite ugly but seeing so many buildings upon buildings for so far out was awesome. The church at the top wasn't worth the walk. Let's be real, the 2 tortoises were the highlight. Oh and my soon to be buns of steal.

    Greek people are really quite rude. I have been barged into heaps and not a single person has said sorry. One lady even put up her hand to say stop, then walked on past like she had right of way. I made a very derisive laugh at her face. Not impressed. They also got no clue on how to drive and park where ever they want.

    I'm not taken by Greece to be honest. Like, I like it well enough and I'm so happy I'm here and get to see things but when I leave, it's not going to be a place I need to come back to.

    Back at the Bnb now, we played a few card games and later we will go out for birthday dinner :)

    Went walking and found a cute little alleyway full of restaurants. Will picked one and we sat inside.
    I was grossly underwhelmed by the food but it was edible. I had an ice cream after to fill the void . We walked back to our Bnb and sat in the falafel shop beneath our room. Will had a beer and I had pomegranate juice. Wills face of horror when he tried some was quite hilarious. Will wanted more beers so we went to the only bottle shop we have come across and he sampled 2 more. We have notice that "pubs" don't seem to be a thing. Maybe because alcohol is so accessible everywhere they don't need a designated drinking spot.
    Back home now. So tired again. Tomorrow we fly to Italy so we have to pack which I can't be bothered to do :/ we have to get up early to make sure we get there in time and have time to organize our lockers.
    I like where we are staying. It's pretty noisy though.
    Read more