Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 47

    Work Away

    May 20, 2017 in Bulgaria ⋅ ⛅ 20 °C

    It's cold. Like really cold. Like my hands are on fire because they are cold.
    We had help in the fields today which was spectacular. The 3 local Romani were so friggen loud though - chat chat chat but in Italian/Greek yelling way.
    We thought we were doing a great job until they turned up (we got dropped off first then Danny went to collect them) before we had finished our first row they had done 2.
    Ninja skills.
    There was a lot more roses today though! The roses themselves were half frozen so removing them was actually more difficult.
    The 3 helpers are a mother and son and the mothers best friend. We went to an extra field today because it had started to blossom too.
    The others group met us there and we finished really quickly.
    I got a massive splinter though!
    We then went to the top field that I'm getting so over going to - well not so much going to as being put in Danny's shitty car that doesn't have seat belts and bounces you everywhere. It takes so much effort to stabilize your body movements and not go out the window. There are also branches that hang down low and make the sounds of fingers down a chalk board when ever we drive through. It's so bad I've started blocking my ears.
    I tried to jump in the other car but we had so many people that they didn't come to the top field and tried another new field.
    The 3 pickers get payed per kg.
    We asked how much and they said 1 Lev per kg.
    Talk about minimum wage...
    We wondered if they were angry with us helping them and 'stealing' their roses but turns out at the end we gave the collections from the first 2 fields to them - not the 3rd though because they would be unfair because we did work hard too.
    Today was much better I think it ended up being 38ish kgs. Each day there is more and more.
    I don't know why we couldn't have weighed the bags at home but Danny stopped on the side of the road to do it.
    We had to transport the helpers in the boot.
    No road safety here :/

    We came home and had the left over crepes for breakfast - I was disappointed, I randomly wanted porridge with banana and honey.
    We then had our daily nap until 12. Had lunch - left over from dinner yum! And then got ready to go to the top field AGAIN -.-
    Though it is my favourite field.. see problem above. D:
    We did the same as before - continue cutting the blasted trees and trying to remove roots.
    We finally got my splinter out with Danny's tweezers he carries in a holster haha
    I worked for ages on this stupid berry bush. I prefer the trees 1. Because they are most satisfying to cut down and 2. Because they are actually easier because they don't have 100 little stems - only thick ones that are easy to find and snip.
    The berries were a pain in the butt but I got there.
    Danny bought a pick axe yesterday and on the first stump he and Will snapped it in half hahaha
    Everyone has done a great job getting rid of some huge roots!
    We worked for 2 hours and are now back at the house.
    My hands were so sweaty they smelt like dead animal - the collection of old sweat in the gloves probably contributed lol.

    We waited around for a while while people had showers then we went in to separate cars to finally have our pizza night at the church.
    I shotgunned a spot with Johanna- her car has seatbelts :D
    We first went to the next town over, the other car picked up the pizza and our car got some groceries.
    Because Danny's cat is a piece of crap he didn't want to turn the car off and wait for us so he went on ahead.
    Because she had no one to follow Johanna took a wrong turn and we ended up in a different village in the wrong direction. When turning around to go back she bumped into a tree haha
    We eventually met up with the other car and arrived at the church. It was beautiful. It's normally 3/4 submerged in water but today for unknown reasons the water level was so low and we could actually enter the church. The church is the only remaining building from the village in the lake.
    We were given a pizza each to eat. It was an odd combo of ingredients - mushroom, ham and corn.
    We sat on mats and had a cute litttle picnic.
    I added yogurt to my pizza and it was great. Their yogurt is so much better than ours!!
    It's not as thick.
    After we all just walked around admiring the scenery and taking lots of photos of the setting sun. The drone made another appearance so hopefully that captured it better than my phone.
    It was time to leave and stupid Danny decided we would do some off-roading.
    We went through 2 streams and 1, what I would consider a mini river. I kept thinking about how every flood I scold the idiots on the news and I was going to be one of them...
    We did make it through - it was eventful though with a lot of nervous laughter. Johanna didn't want to drive but she had to follow Danny so we had no choice. She isn't the most confident driver but she didn't kill us and that's all that matters.
    We finally made it home after lots of unnecessary detours. I'm happy to have my feet on flat ground again.
    Will loved the church. Like, love loved it.
    It was definitely I unexpected highlight for me too

    My toenail is infected and has some puss :/ I'll have to remember to put Betadine on tomorrow - and To my fingers! I think I have left over splinter bits that are starting to swell too. I just can't tell if it's dirt or a fragment of splinter sometimes :S
    Read more