Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 104

    Stockholm

    July 16, 2017 in Sweden ⋅ ⛅ 20 °C

    Bed was so comfy. I got too hot using my sleeping bag so I switched to the hostel sheet.
    Met Will about 10:20 in the common room section.
    We went for a walk with no real plan.
    We tried to find somewhere for breakfast but once again the ridiculous that is europe struck again.
    Once again the only 2 places available was tgifriday of McDonald.
    We went with the cheaper option... it was still expensive - more so than Norway. 😩
    I looked up the meeting place of our tour we are doing later and Will looked up shopping centers for us to buy me a kindle and him a USB wall charger for his phone.
    We found a dick smith type of place but it didn't sell kindles :( we bought Wills thing though.
    We found another shop in the shopping center - they didn't have it either but the guy knew where did and gave us directions and a street address- he even provided what number it was which I though was impressive and a little strange.
    Walk walk walk - it was called Webballen and

    THEY HAD KINDLES 🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉
    So $250 later 😶😶😶😶
    I HAVE A NEW KINDLE ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️
    Thanksyou Wil❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️
    We went and sat down in 'the espresso house' which is a really big chain here and had a drink because it was really sunny and hot. I had an iced passion fruit mint thing which was excellent and made me cold lol.
    We walked back to the hostel because I wanted to set up my new kindle 🤗🤗🤗

    Got the laptop out and had to change my amazon password because I can never remember which password I've used - it's always the same word/numbers - I hate websites that make you used a capital, number or symbol cause I can't remember which version I've used 😩
    Anyway, logged on, cancelled my old kindle so the THIEF can't use my account to buy anything but I didn't mark it as lost or stolen because I would rather the kindle continue to be used and not get throw away because it's now useless. They can read if they pay for it. Lol

    So bless the system - all my books automatically downloaded to the same page I was on 😍

    We left for our tour at 3:45 - on the way we realized we needed to find an ATM so we could tip at the end.
    An almost impossible task. We found on in the station but I am genuinely surprised not to have found one on their main shopping strip.

    Our guide had clear English but she had the biggest pointy out nippled ever and they distracted me the entire tour. It was like the mentors add. They were so thick 😂
    Anyway,

    Our first stop was outside the opera where she told a story about a murdered king I think ( someone important lol) and told us of the free museum that displays the clothing he was wearing when shot. We plan to go tomorrow.
    We walked to a bridge that had a nice view and found the very modest Prime ministers house. It's prime location because the parliament building is opposite lol.
    We walked on through old town and came to the palace. We learnt about the Royal family and how progressive they are - the eldest, not first boy gets the throne and there are some interesting characters married in such as a reality tv star haha.
    We learnt about the palace ghost - this bit interested me the most.
    Supposedly the ghost only appears when someone is going to die and was last seen In 1920?
    Story goes the princess was very sick - the flag was at half mast but no one had put it like that so so a guard was sent up to fix it but never came back down. A second guard got sent up and found the first guard quivering saying he had see the ghost.
    The princess then died that day. They were going to bury her in the veil she was married in but her husband wanted to keep it as a token of their love.
    This woman was the current queen of Denmarks (Margaret) grandmother.
    It got passed down ....
    When princess Mary married Prince Fredrick she wore that same veil.
    I think it's cool.

    They had female palace guards and I'm not sure if I've seen that before.

    The youngest daughter of the current king/queen married a suit. He didn't want to give up his money so when they are introduced it's princess Madeline and MR Something hahahah

    There is a church we are going to try go to tomorrow as well which has every royal family member buried there - except one who is in the Vatican.

    We walked on an got shown a Viking stone that a shopkeeper liked so then transported it to there house over 500 years ago 😂
    It's engraved with cool markings - it's in honor of someone's son.

    We then learnt a little bit about Vikings.
    She made it very clear that Vikings did not have horns on their helmets and that idea came from a play or something and the idea stuck lol.
    They did drink from then though.
    In Viking law you are not allowed to steal - you are allowed to kill though and a dead man can't own anything... problem solved lol.

    It started drizzling - she talked about the Vasa ship - we will learn more when we go to it's museum tomorrow. 👍🏼

    I can see lots of magnet options 🤗🤗🤗

    We tipped 50krone - I was going to give 100 but there was at least 30 people on the tour.
    She lost money for having distracting nipples.
    Seriously though put them away.

    She was a great guide. Me and Will both agree that Martin from Bulgaria is still our favourite. He was an unintentional crack up.

    We were going to have tacos for dinner but it was shut so we found Thai - it had a buffet and I finally got some fried rice 😬😬😬
    Back at hostel now - we've showered and are now in our separate rooms.
    I now plan to read :)
    Finished book :(
    But now I get to pick a new series 😬😬😬😬

    Also I don't remember if I stated my opinions on Norway.
    Basically Oslo sucks lol. Super boring and not pretty.
    Norway itself however is divine.

    Sweden I'm unsure of so far. It's just a another city really. I generally like somewhere if I do cool shit there though so hopefully tomorrow's activities are good :)

    There are gypsies here - have seen any of them in a while.
    Like shaking a cup in my face is going to convince me to give you money. I'm more sympathetic to the silent man sitting in the corner.
    Read more