Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 105

    Stockholm

    July 17, 2017 in Sweden ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    Big day planned today.
    I had to let Will into my room because I had his tooth brush. We pre paid for one days breakfast from the hostel so we went to get that - what a disgrace! At this "buffet" you are only allowed one of everything - too bad if you don't like something. So basically we paid $10 each for one croissant and a tiny glass of juice.
    My opinion on this shall be reflected in my review.
    We then walked about 3km to go to the Vasa museum. We saw the prettier side to Stockholm today - our walk alone the water was very nice.
    We got to the museum and it was pretty popular - supposedly it's the most visited museum in Scandinavia.
    So basically, the Vasa was a war ship that King Gustav? Number something, hired people to build. The people building it told the king that his requests were not normal and the dimensions were wrong ra ra ra but the king wouldn't listen because he wanted it to look a certain way and he was going to have it his way - so they built it anyway. Lo and behold it didn't make it out of the harbour before capsizing and killing 30-50 people.
    It was obviously such an embarrassment at the time that no one retrieved it and it lay at the bottom of the ocean for hundreds of years before finally someone decided to go get it.
    98% was well enough preserved which is really impressive - had something to do with the water.
    No one was ever convicted for its failure. Or at least no transcripts saying so have been found.
    They tried to convict many people with saying the captain didn't tie up the cannons or the crew was drunk etc etc but all survivors testimony stated everything was done correctly.

    Ok so the ship was friggen massive and so so impressive!
    The detailing was just ridiculous and no wonder it sunk lol I would loved to have seen it when it was coloured. You can always tell in museums what has be remodeled and what is old - it was all old.
    There were heaps of side rooms with different things to look at regarding the ship such as anchors, ropes, tools etc but my favourite part was obviously the ship itself and the 12 or so bodies they had on display from people found on board. They had remodeling of their faces and info on the ones with enough bones and shared info on how they lived - just like the tv series Bones - what she does. It was very cool. Who walked with a limp etc.
    2 women were on board too.

    We were both pretty hungry because of our crappy breakfast - we walked back 2 kilometers to find a place to eat - GUESS WHAT IT WAS?!? TGIFridays - right next door to McDonald's 😂
    We ate - not sure if we are meant to tip here - I never bothered looking it up. 🙄 we didn't lol.

    We then walked the 2km back to the Swedish history museum which was free entry 😬😬😬
    We like free things😝
    We first went to the gold room.
    I know gold is expensive and considered treasure but I just don't get it so I know I didn't appreciate this display as others might. I just looked at everything - pretty lol.
    We went upstairs and looked at other old things. Will doesn't give me enough time to read everything so I have to pick and chose haha. We went through a religious section and then a display which had helmets you could put on. One was really heavy and the other- pfttt you wouldn't even be able to see the enemy coming - it had such small eye holes!
    Feeling the chain mail was cool.
    We kept walking - it was a really weird set up and to be completely honest I didn't really take anything in because I forgot my pills this morning and was too tired too.
    We found the Viking section and I was a little disappointed by it. It wasn't as grizzly or badass as I would have liked. It had normal everyday farmer crap. I don't care about the plate and bowl they owned - I want to see their helmet and weapons! Lol
    We then went to walk to the next museum but my legs were dying and I had the tired giggles so we sat down.
    We decided we would do it in the morning because we have several hours to kill before our flight. But we did go to old town to get me a magnet 😜
    On the way home i finally bought a hat too. 🙌🏼
    I've been royalty spoilt the last 2 days. We need to get to Estonia so we can stop depleting the funds so much.
    Got home had pills and then I crashed on the couch for 2 hours.
    Will downloaded and watched the new game of thrones episode - I might watch it on the plane tomorrow :)
    He also joined 'Steam' and spent a long time figuring out an account name that wasn't taken (online games shop)
    We went next door to have Swedish meatballs because we get a discount because we are from the hostel. Well from 5-7 we do and it was 7:15 :(
    They were still really good - they came with these weird berries that made it sweet.
    Back in my bed now and ready for more sleep. Just posted my weekly update on Facebook #hilarious.
    Read more