Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 126

    Transit

    August 7, 2017 in Poland ⋅ ⛅ 19 °C

    Didn't get to sleep quite late. Time was passing and I was getting stressed about how hard I was going to find the morning so I snuck down and stole Wills headphones so I could listen to Harry Potter. I fell asleep fast after that :)

    Morning time oh joy.
    We ran a little later than we would have liked but it all turned out fine.
    Walked to the station, quickly got breakfast and then we found our platform.
    I hate the Polish train system.
    They tell you what platform so that's all well and good but once you get there it has different tracks and no automated signs telling you what train is next.
    It's very stressful.
    We found our train though.
    Someone was in my seat so I sat somewhere else because it didn't really matter and they looked like friends so there was no point breaking them up when my seat isn't next to Wills anyway.
    It's a 6 hour train ride.
    I slept for the first hour but woke up in time to poke Will and tell his to look out the window and Malbork castle. It's the largest castle in the world.
    I got out my puffy jacket to use as a pillow and went back to sleep on the tray.
    At Warsaw the girl next to me off to I moved over and stole her window seat.
    I slept or at least tried to for the next 3 hours. We are now about 30 mins away.
    I feel so bloated and the man I'm sitting next to has me pushed up against the corner because he has a very inconsiderate elbow positioning going on.

    Made it to krakow and it was a pretty nice walk to our hostel through the park.

    So our hostel is a dump 😂😂
    We had to walk up some dodgy alleyway to find the entrance and it smells like Jacinta's old house - cigarettes and cat piss.
    There is also only 2 toilets per level and they double as the showers so so far have always been taken.
    It will do though. Price and location is good.

    We went walking to find dinner but first popped into a church. Nothing special, I always like the roofs though.

    I decided I wanted Indian and wouldn't consider other options. Lol

    We found an amazing place! It was 3 levels underground in stone rooms. Food was superb and it was cheap enough.
    You always know it will be good Indian if Indian people are in the resturant - they were everywhere.

    Outside are so many horse and carriages but the horses are all dolled up.
    The area is pretty but very stereotypical Europe. We have 5 nights here so we have set ourselves the goal of going on a walking tour - we should at least do one in Poland haha.

    Got my confirmation email for Auschwitz - still nervous though because we have to meet at a statue for pick up and cause our mobiles don't work I'm worried if we cant find the driver we will get left behind.

    At the hostel I had a shower and Will downloaded hame of thrones. We took it in turns watching it. Can't wait till next week!

    There is a dude in our room has gone out in a PAC man suit. It was ridiculous and yet amazing.

    I hate the stairs. We are always on the top floor!!
    I have a top bunk again 😒
    Read more