Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 127

    Krakow

    August 8, 2017 in Poland ⋅ ⛅ 18 °C

    Murder nearly took place in our dorm last night.
    This bumch of idiots would not shut up and came stumbling home at 1 am, turned the lights on and had a party/ started changing into suspenders and suits?
    I just sat up and glared at them. They returned at 5am where I told them to shut up.

    We got up at 11. They were still asleep at 2.
    For breakfast then started organizing how we were going to get to the salt mines. The guy at the reception told us yesterday we didn't need to pre book and should just show up but after reading so many reviews saying the opposite thing we decided to book. Only option was for 4:50 tomorrow so that now freed up our day.

    I wanted to make sure I knew exactly where our Auschwits tour pick up point was so we first went and found the statue. We then headed to Wawel cathedral for Wills plan to become the king of Poland to occur.

    - basically there is a "dragon bone" hanging up in the cathedral and who ever it falls down onto is the rightful king of Poland or something special like that. Will had been holding out hope it would fall on him and he wouldn't have to get a job.

    It did not fall.
    Bummer.

    The Cathedral was free to enter and actually quite nice. it had lots of side rooms/chapels and a crypt. In the Crypt was a plaque for Chopin but his heart is in Warsaw and body in France.
    Lots of Chopin concerts around the place.

    A few kings were buried too.

    Walk walk walk. The amount of horse and carriages is ridiculous. All you hear is clip clop clip clop all day.
    They have special shoes though so that's something.
    I hope they are on rotation because what a shitty life otherwise.

    We decided we would relax by the river - I would read and Will watch a movie.
    Went back to the hostel to get the electronics then started walking - we found a park on the way and thought it would do.
    We had a snooze instead lol.
    It was a bit wet and cold though so we decided to go find the sun and river.

    The view of the castle across the river was awesome! I did a few split leaps for a photo haha.
    We just relaxed for ages and watched lots of people walking their dogs.

    Walked to Hard Rock Cafe and had our favourite mango berry cooler drink.

    Krakow is nice but I'm not overwhelmed by it.

    I had a 2 hour nap in the room then we went down to the common room where there was free sangria and talked to a few people. They weren't very engaging so we are back upstairs. Will is really bored. I'm not. I just want some time to myself really lol. People exhaust me.

    There was cute man on the street playing piano wearing a horse hat trying to get money for an engagement ring.

    My split leap photo is pretty shitty. My arm annoys me but hey it's harder in boots and a 10kg weight gain hahaha
    Read more