Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 164

    Edinburgh

    September 14, 2017 ⋅ 🌙 8 °C

    Jax gave me some lovely morning cuddles in the bed.
    We drove to the centre of Edinburgh and there was literally no parking. We tried 5 different car parks on the Gps but none actually existed. We eventually found street parking and then had the fiasco of needed coins for the parking meter.
    paying with your mobile was also an option... 😒😒😒
    I ended up going to the coffee stand near by and pleading for shrapnel.
    We walked towards the castle but Jax was hungry so we had to find food for him before we went to the castle.
    Nothing looked overly child friendly and it was sooo packed. So many tourists. A lot of them Asian groups blocking streets lol.

    We found this souvenir shop type place that had a resturant up top. As we were walking through it we had a look and holy crap the cashmere or what ever it was was so expensive! Like120£ for a scarf.
    The food was shit lol but at least we had something in our tummies.

    We went to the castle which was literally next door.
    38£ it cost us to get in 😖 but I got a souvenir guide book too - not sure if it was free or if I paid? The accents are too much for me lol.

    The castle is more what I consider a fortress - it was more like a little city/village feel rather than Royal.
    We went to the Scottish war museum which was honestly really boring.
    I've realized I know very little Scottish history ...
    At least we didn't have to pay another entry fee - it was free.

    The views from the walls were great!
    100% not pram friendly. We skipped a lot including the Scottish Crown Jewels because we have Jax 😞
    We did manage to visit the banquet hall which wasn't nearly as fancy as Windsor castles. The walls were lined with old weapons.

    There was also a dog cemetery which warmed my soul. ❤️

    We went into the old prison bit. After seeing Auschwitz their accommodation was 5 star. There were 2 different prison sections - I think from different time periods.
    I couldn't really read anything because Jaxon was singing.

    Overall I didn't really rate it. Don't need to come back again. It is, however highly likely I would have enjoyed it more if I could do it at my own pace.

    We left and walked down the tourist mile. The Real street name is royal mile.
    It had some cool street performers- one dude was dressed as a centaur and I took a picture so he wanted money. I told him I'd delete it because I didn't want to pay. I did not. Tough titties mate.
    The mile had nice old buildings. We didn't walk the while mile but it had some churches and just gargoyle type buildings.

    We started walking back to the car - on the way we walked past 'The Elephant House' which is where J.K Rowling use to sit and write Harry Potter so that's pretty cool - I got a picture :)
    Not far away was the Greyfriars cemetery. It's famous because of the story of Bobby - a dog whose master died and who the. Visited the cemetery everyday for the next 14 years. He is buried there too and has a tombstone - it's so lovely, instead of flowers everyone puts sticks on his grave. ❤️❤️❤️

    The cemetery is pretty grim. Bloody Jess and her love of spookiness. How awkward for all the shopkeepers though - some of the tombs are the literal back walls of their shops. Fuck leaving work at midnight 😰😰😰no ghosts allowed thanks.

    We went home and I had a solid nap.

    Jaxon was driving everyone up the wall because he is teething and super cranky so Jess was gonna take him in the pram to go get Chinese but it was raining. By the time we had come up with a new plan it had stopped and we went back to plan a. Chinese.

    We all walked down to order. Jaxon was agin annoying everyone so I took him back home only it had started to rain again so I sprinted the whole way and it felt like my lungs had blood in them by the time I got there. The air is so cold!!!
    NIt the best Chinese but it passed.

    I watched some criminal mind episodes which I so very much enjoyed. I loved having 2 hours to myself 🤗🤗🤗

    We want to go to Loch Ness and are trying to work out details. I really want to skype mum and dad. We have so much to talk about and I miss them but again because of Jaxon our timing doesn't line up - we leave the house too early so dad won't be back from work yet and mum is a goose and can barely change a tv channel let alone set up a skype session. Lol 😝

    We need to do washing. I've run out of undies haha

    The bed is too small. It's only a double and Will takes up the whole damn thing.
    Read more