Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 175

    Fes

    September 25, 2017 in Morocco ⋅ ⛅ 35 °C

    Our taxi was early and arrived at 5:30 but we were ready to go - happy to leave!
    Our taxi got us there is 10 mins then we ate some brekkie at a cafe.
    It was easy finding the train - we jumped on and claimed our seats.
    Over the next 8 hours people got on an off - I was so incredibly hot at one point - it was fine once I got the air flow seat :)

    The toilet is gross - it just goes Onto the tracks but there was old poo everywhere because there is no water to wash it away even a little bit.

    Made it to Fes - had a few naps on the way I think.

    The distance to the hostel was 3.5km and we decided to be healthy and walk it.
    Oh god. The sweat.
    Also it would seem that tourists in shorts are less common around here. The men were not subtle with their staring. Very glad I had Will. They have no shame just steering at my groin and someone yelled I had beautiful legs lol

    Our hostel foyer is really cool.
    I'm writing this at the moment as we wait to check in - we got orange juice refreshments and the guy hasn't come back and that was 20 mins ago..
    At least it's cool and bonus they have a tortoise just chilling inside.
    I have it a pat :)

    OMG OMG OMG SOUND THE ALARM 🚨
    THE HOSTEL ALSO HAS A DOG

    We showered - my hair for s turning into dreds 😂 just couldnt be bothered to wash it ... maybe tomorrow haha

    We went walking to find a pharmacy to buy more cream. No idea what it is - the only understandable word is irritant so that's at least on the right track.

    While walking for food we ran into a man who asked Will what the 88 on his jersey meant - he said it meant nothing - the man then didn't shut up and showed us his tour guide credentials and said he sometimes works for topdeck.
    Long story short is we might go on tour with him on Wednesday for a half day because his English was good, he had credentials and the hostel is a rip. He knew our hostel owner and doesn't like him hahaha

    We ate - Will ordered the camel burger but they were our so we have to go back.
    Reasonable food.

    Walking home again more stairs.
    So much so Will said I can buy a pair of Jeanie pants which he HATES because it's too hot for my other clorhss but can't stay in shorts either.

    Back at the hostel I played with Bruno the dog ❤️❤️🐶

    Now relaxing in bed.

    We went out into the foyer/common room to mingle and chatted to an American for ages. First one we have met in Morocco. She was 37 which blew me away cause I would have guessed 25.
    She had an interesting story of how she escaped with her family after the Vietnam war.

    I played with the dog and tortoise.
    Read more