Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 179

    Fes

    September 29, 2017 in Morocco β‹… β˜€οΈ 31 Β°C

    Slept in until 11ish. My cough is really bad because I'm right under the air con.

    We decided we should probably do something today πŸ˜‚
    We headed towards the Tanneries.

    People are so freaking annoying!!!!! Good intentions yes but i am so over every second person giving direction when they don't even know where we are going.

    I might have half yelled at one dude... he was like
    "the medina is down here"
    "We aren't going to the medina"
    "You need to go this way"
    "You don't even know where we are going!!!! "

    Gah go away.

    He chased after us because I think he was surprised and slightly impressed a woman spoke to him is such a way. he told me he liked me hahahah Somehow we ended up with a guide ... πŸ˜’πŸ˜’πŸ˜’πŸ˜’ (not him) he took us to the tannery and passed us on to someone else - it's sneaky! You just go through 4 levels of his shop to reach it.

    As we walked out onto the view area he gave us mint to hold to our noses because my word, IT WAS SO BAD OMG.

    The shop owner stayed with us and told us all about it.
    It's a Friday so not as many people were there..
    They put the skins into the big pools of pigeon poop to clean it.....
    then they do something with the spin wheel then they dye it in the pool of dye. It can take 2 months for sheep and goat and 3 months for camel and cow. There were men standing in the pools splashing the contents around.
    around in the neighboring buildings were skins hanging up. The white skins get dried in the shade.

    So thankful for the mint.

    Apparently it's UNESCO site but I don't actually think thats true... the Fes medina is though... (I still don't understand what a medina is...) but I suppose the pools might come under the same area?

    Why don't I know what a medina is? Because it's meaning keeps changing.

    It's suppose to be surrounded by a wall BUT doesn't have to be...
    then Today I was told :

    "the medina is this way"
    "We aren't going to the medina"
    "You are in the medina"
    .... then how can it be over there if I am already in it? πŸ€”πŸ€”πŸ™„πŸ€”πŸ€”πŸ€”πŸ€”πŸ€”

    Whatever.

    We then had an awkward showing through his shop.
    He tipped him 10€ because he was good and because we didn't have anything smaller πŸ˜–πŸ˜–πŸ˜–πŸ˜–
    The stupid guide wanted money too - gave him 20 dirham to shut him up and leave us alone.
    I made a very loud point of telling him he should not have lied and said it was free (we knew he would want a tip but couldn't get rid of him and he insisted it would be free - bullshit)

    I accidentally startled Bruno when he was sleeping and he nipped my hand. Now, he is the cleanest dog I have ever come across so here's to hoping I don't get rabies ✌🏼🀞🏼🀞🏼
    Poor puppy. He had lots of cuddles to say sorry to each other πŸ˜»πŸ€—

    I have also not been hungry for a week so my hypercondriac side has decided I have Hep A. πŸ‘πŸΌ
    Lol

    Walked home, rested then walked to the shopping mall 3km away for food.
    We are still avoiding old mate tour guide.

    Walked home, played with dog and talked to everyone in the common room.

    The hostel was putting on a free dinner but that wasn't ready until 9:15 lol.
    I forced myself to eat even though I'm not hungry. Forced myself at lunch too.

    Sat next to a french guy who was really nice and wrote down stuff for us to see in France - same with a girl from the Ukraine

    It was a good night but I found that Sophie Monks episodes as the bachelorette have been uploaded to YouTube so I went and watched 2 of them while Will stayed upstairs and continued drinking with everyone.
    It's currently 2:20 am and I can hear him laughing upstairs haha

    I would like to leave Morocco and go somewhere with better sanitation please.
    ✌🏼
    Read more