Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 209

    Plitvice lakes

    October 29, 2017 in Croatia ⋅ ⛅ 9 °C

    We left buy 8 to get food then were back in the lobby by 8:30 to start our tour.

    I don't even know how long the drive was tbh.
    I know I had a nap though 😂

    With us were 3 Americans and 3 Indians- one was a 3 year old girl.

    We stopped on the way to the COOLEST village though.
    It generates all its power through the multiple huge water falls it has there. People had a water fall going through their damn house! 😵

    It was stunning! I was thinking how much I'd love to stay there/ live there but I think never ever having silence would get to me.
    Lovely noises to sleep too though!

    Got to the park and had to pay entry BOO HISS THIS DAY IS SO EXPENSIVE. Better be good.

    We jumped on a park bus that took us to stop 1.

    Stopped at a few view points along the way till we walked down a bunch of steps through a cave to come out the other side.

    There were fishies in the water 🐟😃
    We walked along boardwalks (beautiful scenes along the way) and came out at a big waterfall - the biggest in Croatia. Not really sure how that really measures up in the scheme of things outside of Croatia but it was still reasonable sized. Not that pretty though. It wasn't as full as it normally is apparently. The guide - Billy, showed us pictures of it in Winter when it's completely frozen and it looked incredible!

    Ahhh it's so pretty!!!!! 😍😍😍😍 it reminded me of canyon Matka in Macedonia - the water colour was the same.
    So many little water fall streams everywhere you looked.
    LOVING ITTTTTT.

    We then had to climb back up the same gazillion stairs we came down on because today was so so so so windy so the boat was closed so we had to go around another way.

    The little Indian girl, though a bit thick was at least quite all day so I'm very happy with her and she can come again. She obviously needed more time to get places but we all didn't mind waiting - especially when we all had a break halfway up the stairs because we were waiting for the family and not because we were all tired....... 😅
    We then caught another bus to the next stop which was the other side of the park so it took a little while to get there.

    There were so many leaves all of the ground we had fun kicking and throwing them.
    Will developed a real bromance with our guide. I kinda got abandoned so he could be with his new bff. 😂
    It was still freaking stunning but I think 2 weeks ago it would have been glorious with all the leaves still on the trees and all the different colours.

    I got chatting to Jen, one of the Americans. She was really nice. She and the older lady were here for a conference and fly home tomorrow and the other girl was the daughter who lives in England and met up with then - she had a pole up her ass. Will asked Jen what her problem was as Jen said it's just her personality. she had actually been warned on the plane ride there that she is a nasty, rude person and to not to take it personal because it's just who she is - - by her own mother 😂😂😂
    Didn't really speak to the Indians because they were always being up the rear.

    We stopped by a waterfall and had lunch.
    Walk walk walk.
    I love the boardwalks. It gives it a nice and natural feel to it.
    I don't know why else to write because it was the same thing over and over but just so wonderful all the same.

    I had to remind myself to look up a lot though because my focus kept going back down to where I was walking.

    The men all had a competition who could skim their rock on the water and have it jump the most.

    He was honestly the most unprofessional guide ever hahah
    Really really nice though. Originally from Tunisia so that's something different. His mum is Italian though so he isn't very dark.

    Ponds, lakes, creeks, falls and streams ❤️

    On the bus ride back we were talking about what we did in England and lucky I kept my opinions about Hermione in the cursed child to myself because the bitchy girl is a stage director/acting teacher and both Hermionies are her students. They did shit but still that's very cool.

    On the journey home I was dj for a bit and put on some aussie tunes.

    We were up front of the bus and Billy and Will started talking about cars and I couldn't escape because I was wedged in between them 😫😫😫 I just don't care.

    We have made it back. The Americans tipped $60!!!
    billy and will are gonna go out drinking together and I am determined to finish my book.
    Read more