Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 239

    Venice

    November 28, 2017 in Italy ⋅ ⛅ 5 °C

    One of these days I'll say I slept well. Today is not that day.

    I showered cause I felt yuck and didn't want to waste the fact we have a private shower. I washed my hair. The treatment stuff made it easier to wash :)

    Off we went.
    We got on the water boat. Everything looks so nice this morning.
    No one checked our tickets so we could have saved ourselves some money. 😪

    It took us over to the other 'island'
    Off we got.
    Immediately liked it.

    I had the Rialto bridge pre loaded in maps so off we went.

    On the way we walked past St Marcos * so we popped on inside. The outside is more impressive than that inside. The outside is seriously incredible. Still, nice inside. You couldn't take photos but entry was free so no complains here.

    The thing about Venice is, every single building is the same style. It's not some beautiful buildings. It's all beautiful buildings.

    I think I was expecting more canals but there was still a lot.

    I like the bridges you have to walk over.

    It was like a labyrinth. So many twists and turns and dead ends.

    It's so beautiful. The flower boxes out of windows add to the charm.

    The main bridge wasn't what I envisioned. We still got some photos. ✌🏼✌🏼

    We found a little resturant to eat at next to a dead end canal. I had two wonderful servings of bruschetta.
    Will is compelled to correct my pronunciation every time. Lol

    We just walked really. We both really really enjoyed it.
    So much to look at.
    Each bridge had a different beautiful canal entry.

    So many bloody gondalas.
    We didn't end up getting one because they were too expensive.
    And we figure our ferry boat sort of counts as a boat ride? I mean, it's in the same water :)

    Lots of artists and pigeons around.

    I FEEL LIKE THE BIGGEST DICK.
    I gave a sad looking homeless man money and he looked so excited about it - as I was walking away I realised I got the money out of the wrong pocket so I gave him the wrong currency meaning he can't even use it.
    His poor heart.
    Hating myself.

    THE MOST EMBARRASSING THING.
    I was taking selfie and a man approached me -
    He said something and I go "sorry, English"
    He looked at me like I was retarded and both him and Will said together "that was English"
    Bloody spastic.
    I felt like such a tool. It was heavy English but still english.
    Automatic response.
    It was way more embarrassing than it sounds reading it back but trust me, it was mortifying and Will has been laughing at me allllllll day.

    We made our way back to St Marks square.

    We then caught the boat to some island because our 24 hours wasn't yet up.
    We went in the church of saint Georgio Maggiore. Nothing special. It was going some random display thing which made no sense but it had a cool mirror set up of mirrors in a circle so when you stepped in you got reflected in heaps of ways.
    Fun fun.

    We got back on the boat - that 0/4 for ticket checking.

    Back at the hostel we just relaxed in the warm lobby.
    I actually really like this hostel excel for location.
    Well, not so much location as the price of the ferry.

    Will got a beer and when the kitchen opened we got dinner.

    It was a really good day. I rate Venice highly.
    Read more