Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 240

    Verona

    November 29, 2017 in Italy ⋅ 🌫 4 °C

    Our whole room was checking out today so all 4 of us were trying to pack in a cramped space. I was a nice human and decided to let them go first so I stayed in bed longer. All out of kindness. I had no other motive I swear 🙄😅

    We went to buy new boat tickets and of course they dont take card and there was no ATM so I went for a 2km walk run in the rain to try and find one. People kept saying "it's over the next bridge"
    IT WAS NEVER OVER THE NEXT BRIDGE.. OR THE NEXT ONE.

    Long story short I didn't find one but we found money.
    Bought tickets and got on the boat. Shock shock they didn't check tickets which annoyed me after all the effort.
    our boat took us straight to the train station so that was something.

    We were a little early so we had breakfast in a cafeteria.

    The train was practically empty which I prefer.

    I was asleep-ish and the train guy came past to check everyones tickets but didn't bother us because we were sleeping 😂
    Doing a good job, mate 👍🏼👍🏼

    It was a 2 hour journey but we finally made it to Verona.
    2km walk to our hostel/bnb but it was lovely. They have there own mini gladiator stadium. I bloody love gladiator stuff.
    There was also this nice stretch that had colorful buildings and a park.
    it's a Bnb hostel we are staying at.
    So everyone has a private room but there are several guests.
    I really like it. What a great find.

    Pretty soon after arriving we headed off to Juliets house from Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet - or rather the balcony they think inspired Shakespeare.
    The balcony is classical. The vines near by add such charm. Underneath is a statue of Juliet.
    There is a wall with hundreds/thousands of love locks attached. There was also a wall that had love notes attached too. Genuinely horrified that 90% of them were attached to the wall with a bandaid.
    I just slipped mine in the door crack.
    I addressed it to Will and not Romeo just to be clear hahaha

    So what made this EXTRA romantic was that we saw a proposal.
    She said yes.
    He knelt and I wacked Will to get his attention. Neither of us have seen a proposal before.
    The girl was laughing. It wasn't the best reaction.. She never said Yes but eventually pulled him up and accepted it.
    He wasn't fussed by her reaction though - he was talking to the friend filing while he waited for her to stop laughing lol.
    Upon reflection it's a way cooler and less cliche spot that the Eiffel Tower.

    The tunnel walls as we entered and left were all signed with love graffiti.

    We went walking around and ended up having an early dinner.

    Back at the house we showered and then had a tea with everyone in the kitchen area. I didn't really like anyone tbh.

    There was a Lithuanian girl who has been hitchhiking around and I asked her about it and then I made a comment along the lines of Ivan Milat has put me off doing that and then an AUSTRALIAN goes
    "Ivan Milat, Is that somewhere in Europe? "
    ......
    I beg your pardon?
    .....
    OH MY GOLLY GOODNESS 🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️

    Back in our room.
    We Skyped Jess and Jaxon.

    Florence tomorrow ✌🏼
    Read more