Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 259

    Dresden

    December 18, 2017 in Germany ⋅ ☁️ 0 °C

    We had a pee date around 5am (who said romance was dead?) because our roommates left and woke us up so off we went. I had a little trouble getting back down after that but I soldiered on 💪🏻lol

    We left around midday.
    It was proper snowing 😍😍😍👍🏼👍🏼😍😍😍😍😍😍 not heavily but cars were covered in ice and I could catch it. SO EXCITING.

    We walked in to the old town section. Saw the church 'Frauenkirche' - it's the symbol of Dresden. It was destroyed in ww2 but the world donated over 100million and it was rebuilt.
    We saw the Goldener Reiter statue. Nothing overly exciting. It's meant to be on the bridge but it was too heavy to move apparently lol they obviously could move it now with today's advances but haven't.
    We saw the Fürstenzug - a big ass tile artwork. It claims to be one of the biggest mosaics in the world... only I wouldn't classify it as a mosaic. The tiles are too big lol.
    We walked through heaps of different Christmas markets. maybe 5.
    I was scouting for mugs. Hahaha
    I got a cinnamon wrap thing for breakfast and Will for more currywurst.

    We ended up at the Striezelmarkt - it's Germany's oldest Christmas market. This year is the 583rd annual event.

    It was so jolly. Even though it was daytime so you couldn't see the lights and stuff I really enjoyed it. Every shop had such huge displays on their roofs. A lot were animated too. I LOVE CHRISTMAS.

    I thought this would be a good market to get a mug at so I bought a glühwein (hot wine) and drank it. It's definitely going to be my drink of choice on Christmas eve. Hahaha
    My mug said 2015 not 2017 though so I returned it. can't have a mug with a lie.

    We finally bought scarfs. OUTRAGEOUSLY PRICED. But we finally found some for under 20€ each so we got one 2. Not as thick as I would like but they are going to have to do.

    I got a picture on a display balcony thing with the 583 on it. Yay!
    It stated to snow again when we were drinking the wine. 😍

    We saw a cute band play today. All on different horns and in traditional coat stuff. They looked very snug.

    We gave away a lot of money today. Well not a lot but 1€ to 5 or so people.
    They just looked cold and sad. One man was rocking In His sleeping bag. It didn't look like a drug rock but more like a im bloody freezing rock.
    And hey, it's Christmas!

    Went home and rested until we went out to dinner. We went back to the beer house chain Will loved. He had two more beers. I have made a good deal I think - for what he spends on beers in Germany from now is how much I get to spend at the Christmas markets 😁😁😁

    I have a headache at the moment and our new dorm friend is a snorer. He did at least bother to warn us 😒
    Read more