Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 270

    Prague

    December 29, 2017 in Czech Republic ⋅ ⛅ -2 °C

    Felt better this morning. Not perfect but better.
    Was well enough to participate 🤗

    First, we (Me, Craig & Will) went to the main town square which still has Christmas markets going on so we all bought a sausage for breakfast.
    We then walked past the uber famous astrological clock. Unfortunately it was all under construction but the actual clock faces were visible so i got my picture 😊

    We walked towards the river/castle/bridge. The walk wasn't too long. During the walk I was thinking to myself as nice as it is, I'm not blown away. It just looks very similar to other europe.

    Made it to the water and I changed my mind. It was stunning. We had a view of the Charles bridge and the castle at the top of a hill. The sun was in a bitch of a spot so pictures were not that great but I loved it.

    Charles bridge was chockers to we decided to cross the other one to get across and go back via it instead.

    When we crossed the bridge we notice like a solid 100 swans just chilling by the river bank so we went down to have a look.
    I love swans.
    I was worried they were gonna bite me but they let me walk around 😁😁😁😁
    Sad to leave but the boys were bored hahaha what poopers.

    We then walked up to the castle. We decided to not go in the castle cause the line was outrageous but OMG THE VIEW 😱😱😱😍😍😍😍😍❤️❤️❤️
    I think i found it even better because I was surprised by it. Honestly blew me away.
    One of the best views we have seen in Europe if not the best (Norway hikes excluded)
    I just loved it.
    I could ramble for hours but it will just be the same crap over and over. I LOVED IT.
    It was insane. It is a spot I would revisit anytime, any day.
    Prague won me over In that single view.

    We walked back down the hill and walked to the John Lennon wall.
    It was cool but I expected a longer stretch and more defined graffiti. It was very colorful though so many people were getting photos.
    We then walked back over the Charles bridge. It was full but it moved fast considering.

    I bought myself a magnet and we went home for a bit.

    We went out and met Craigs dad and brother by the clock then all went out for dinner again.

    We ended up in a traditional Czech place.
    Me and Will tried Goulash.
    It's like a meat stew and it came in a bread roll bowl.
    It was nice. Nothing to yell and scream about but still yummy.
    The dad paid this time. Bless his socks. He has redeemed himself! Lol
    Said bye to them then we went to an American diner for milkshakes and beer. It was a pretty cool place. Much cheaper too.
    Craig paid for everything so we agreed to pay for the sheesha at the sheesha bar we went to next.

    They need better ventilation! When you walk in it's so so bad! You do adapt but it's still gross.
    We got mango flavored.
    Chilled there for about a hour then went home to the hostel.

    I showered and am now in bed.

    Pretty bummed we are leaving tomorrow! I want to see more after the beauty I saw today!!
    It's a place I don't think I've done properly which will always irritate me.
    I haven't learnt anything about the history of the country. Czechoslovakia was always my favourite word when the Wilson's and I use to play the game in the pool where you had to speak underwater and guess what they said.

    As previously mentioned. My phone is a piece of crap and the photos do NO justice!! Looking back through then now is so sad. They aren't good. BUT IT WAS.
    Read more