Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 277

    Budapest

    January 5, 2018 in Hungary ⋅ ⛅ 8 °C

    So the tour didn't happen...
    BUT we did leave the house.
    Around 2.30..

    I pinned all the things we had to see in our maps (don't know why I only just thought of this idea) and off we went - first stop was the chain bridge.
    Frankly it's just a bridge and it isn't even that nice but the lion statues at the start are cool.
    Unfortunately it was pretty hazy today as well so everything wasn't as crisp as it could be.
    Across the river was Buda castle.
    Budapest is two islands - Buda and pest.
    We assume because of the castle we have been staying in Pest.
    Buda looks nicer.

    The castle looked like more of a palace (don't actually know the difference but it's vibe was definitely palace) and wasn't grand enough that we felt we needed to explore it. Looking at it was enough.
    We crossed the bridge and then had to walk up a gazillion stairs to reach the Fisherman Bastion.
    It looks like a sand castle because it was white but the big thing in the middle was Matthias church which had a hectic colourful roof.
    Not actually sure which bit was the fisherman Bastion but I think the general area, wall and look out points?
    From the top was a beautiful view of parliament which really is a kick ass building.
    Gothic styled.

    Walked back across the chain bridge and then walked to the metro.

    Figured out the ticket machines and caught the train a few stops so I could have my bath 🤗🤗🤗

    So yeah. We went to the Széchenyi thermal bath.
    Will is a pooper and didn't want to participate but gave me an hour for my swim.

    I had a bloody blast!!

    Ok so I had to hire swimmers which was $10 which is super expensive but I had to so..
    stoked that he looked me over and handed me a size small woohooo!
    Expected the XL hahahahaha
    Bit tight but I got in 💪🏻

    They give you a watch and it activates your locker - a cool system. A private dressing room costs extra so I had to get rudely nudey with everyone.
    One elderly lady I did not need to see what I did.

    Figuring everything out took up 15 minutes of my swim time to I raced to the pools - this place is huge!!

    It looked so cool! So much steam was rising off the water.

    I jumped in pool 1 which was nice and warm and full of people. i just paddled about. I had a spin In the whirl pool too. The temp was 34°
    I then did a freeeeezing cold run over to pool 2 and jumped into that.
    It was so bizarre. You know the stinging sensation when your feet are really cold and you enter heated water?
    That happened to my whole body.
    This pool was 38°

    It was so cool. People were drinking beers and there were sooo many canoodling couples!!
    There was also a place where you could place chess in the pool!.

    Thankfully there was a clock so I knew when I had to get out.
    I made a noob decision and left my towel in the locker (didn't realised you could bring it) but omg the run to the chance room was freeeezing!!! Lol

    Got my shit sorted, went and took pics of the pools and went to meet up with Will in the foyer.

    We caught the metro back then Walked to Indian.
    Nice place.

    Walked home and have packed and booked a crap tonne of stuff.
    Got a Bnb in Portugal and flights to Paris. 👍🏼👍🏼

    - Budapest has its own "Budapest eye" and its hilariously small in comparison.

    - People attach love locks to anything

    - at the Indian we got given a bunch of seeds with the check and we don't know why.
    Read more