Satellite
Show on map
  • Skydiving

    September 28, 2020 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 19 °C

    It got cancelled the first time around so this was attempt number 2 and I was so scared.
    When we arrived we had to register and I chose to pay an extra $30 for personal insurance in case of death lol. 😅
    I felt the info provided before getting in the plane was very rushed and unguided. Didn’t go up feeling overly confident.

    We jammed about 15 people into this tiny plane everyone straddling each other. I felt ok at the start but as we climbed higher and higher I began shaking and focusing on my breathing.
    The people in the middle of the plane on the floor jumped out first. Mick was in front of me so then he went.
    We had to butt slide to the plane opening.
    Thank goodness I had to sit on the edge and dangle my legs over I don’t think I could have stood.
    As we leant over I though ok here we go we are doing it.
    My main memory of what I could see is “I see trees”.

    What occupied all my thoughts on the free fall was that I was so cold, I was too cold. and that my ears hurt.
    It was kinda like the pressure when scuba diving and this major STINGING sensation.
    Once falling I wasn’t scared I was just wanting it to end because of how uncomfortable I was.
    The free fall wasn’t tummy falling at all. It almost fet like I was on a windy boat. I was aware the floor was getting closer and that I was falling but the sensation wasn’t some mad adrenaline rush as I expected.
    My dumb ass didn’t realise my dude was trying to prompt me to smile for a picture and not asking if i was ok. I just kept nodding hahah

    I wasn’t scared when falling I was honestly so focused on how uncomfortable I was. I was tensed just waiting for it to be over that I forgot about the parachute. It wasn’t until after it went up i was like oh yeah. Hurray it worked haha.

    Once the parachute open I immediately felt dizzy.
    I told the dude I though was gonna vomit and he respomded “.....I’d prefer if you didn’t” hahahaha

    I then did a vomit over myself and was in and out of consciousness the rest of the way down. He was trying to keep me awake. I remember him being like 3 minutes to go. 2 minutes to go.
    He tried to get me to raise my legs but I couldn’t do it.

    I was awake for landing thank goodness. I lowered my legs too early though so I landed in splits. He freaked out but I was like no all good I bend this way it’s fine 🤣

    I had to go rinse my jumpsuit and leave it on the lawn. Lol.

    Don’t need to do it again. I honestly don’t even remember the falling part, just the cold.

    But I did it so I am proud of myself.
    Another tick for the bucket list. 💪🏻
    Read more