Satellite
Show on map
  • Adelaide

    October 22, 2020 in Australia ⋅ ☁️ 20 °C

    Day 1.

    Corona virus is still in full swing so South Australia is the only border open to NSW that doesn’t involve the 14 days quarantine so it was the only travel option (actually I think NT might be open too) I’m still excited though. I’m keen to just walk around and see it properly. Last time when I went for diving I saw airport, pool, airport.
    Will couldn’t get time off work but they released cheap flights and I jumped at them. Keen to go ANYWHERE.

    The airport was so quiet. Only 15 or so flights for the day. 90% of shops shut.

    So many odd balls on my plane.
    I was at the gate and some lady went up to the counter and was like “so, where do you want me to wait”
    And the jetstar lady just looked at her like????????? in one of the 100 chairs available. Are you expecting some vip experience?? Lol

    They made loads of social distancing announcement but then the plane was full?? I had a middle seat booo.
    I laughed out loud at the safety demo. They added as an after thought at the end “if oxygen is required, you will need to remove your mask before putting on your oxygen mask”
    Like fucking duh.
    Literally no faith in humanity 🤣

    Also the chick doing the safety demo was SO OUT OF TIME. It was like she is deaf and they were playing a different audio and she didn’t know.
    Doing the life jacket during the seatbelt bit??

    Arrived safe but had horrid turbulence.
    SO MANY CHILDREN ON BOARD. There was this one group I wanted to murder though. They weren’t seated together and kept YELLING for/at each other “ TONY, TONY, HEY TONY” all freaking flight. Fk off. They were about 10. Old enough to have their shit together.

    Once we arrived we had to show our border crossing requests which I had done a few days ago so I got through pretty quickly.
    I have no restrictions ✌🏼

    I ordered an Uber to take me to my hotel. My driver was a chatter. 🙄 he was lovely but he was talking politics and I ceebs lol. And it was like a 20 min drive.
    First impressions are that Adelaide is spacious, green and clean.

    Check in was simple, went upstairs and rested a bit while I charged my phone.

    I then went looking for dinner. Saw some dude doing some graffiti but it was middle of the day on a sort or mural bridge so maybe legal.
    I eventually found Hindley street and I Loved the vibe!! It’s like Melbourne but without the arrogance lol.
    So many food spots, bars and chill places. I ended up at a Thai place called the lunchbox it was average but they gave me complimentary chicken wings haha.
    I then decided I wanted ice cream and looked for a place near by. I found a spot called 48 flavors that did peanut butter ice cream so I walked the 4km round journey to get it lol.

    Adelaide is beautiful wtf. It’s seriously gorgeous. The people are a little odd though. I feel like there are a lot of questionable characters down side streets and just I suppose drunk vibing people.
    A lot more aboriginals and Africans here too.
    Lots of face piercings as well.
    My ice cream chick was so passionate. She made n sample some and talked about the production and her opinions etc.
    I ended up with a half scoop of peanut butter and a half scoop of raspberry sorbet which went lovely together. I figure kind of like a P&J sandwich. I walked my way back to the hotel. I think I feel less safe here. I’ll have to wait see if the odd people are because I’m in city centre or all of Adelaide lol. Time will tell.

    Walked past this 12 year old saying “I’m not gonna sleep with him on my birthday”
    Uuuuhhhhmmm. Go home little girl, where are your parents wtf.

    The older buildings like court house and post office are beautiful sandstone.

    Things I have noticed today are that their smoking laws are less restricted, there are a lot of kink shops, and I keep running into people. Do they not follow the walk on the left rule here? cause I have genuinely pissed a few people off lol.
    Walked back to the hotel, watched some tv , smelt myself then realized I needed toothpaste and deodorant ha.
    Went to get that.
    I’m keen to look around tomorrow, I just vomited up my dinner in the shower though and it’s a knob you can’t move so I’ve had to scoop it down the drain with my hand 😭😭🤢
    How good is reflux.
    Bed timeee :)

    Day 2.

    Great sleep in the nude. Didn’t bring enough cloths to smell up the ones I have haha
    Woke at 9, showered and headed to the zoo. It was forecast as 90% chance of rain so I put on my rain jacket.
    It was a decent walk but easy enough.
    The zoo was awesome. Way bigger than I expected and I saw animals I hadn’t seen/don’t see often ie not In Taronga. I saw otters, capybara, panda, cerval, Mandrill and an albino meerkat.
    Lots of school groups and mum groups.
    I really enjoyed myself.

    I then went over to the botanical gardens next door. A lot of it was untamed mess/beauty but I loved the rose garden and lily pads. Just a lovely lush green area.

    It was nearly 1pm by now and I still hadn’t eaten cause zoo shop was shut (the eatery - I bought 2 tea towels at the gift shop Lol)
    I walked to the dumpling king for lunch and ?? I expected to have dumpling because, well, the shop name? But they only have plain pork dumplings and then 45 other types of foods.
    Odd name choice. Very misleading. I still ate there cause I had bothered to walk so far but it was eh.
    Walked back to the hotel and am currently charging my phone before I go back out - I’ve taken a lot of pics today haha.
    Will called before, he is busy at work. Just called to check in :)
    It is yet to rain.

    I decided to catch an Uber to the Himeji gardens which were about 3km away. The sky looked suspicious and I didn’t want to get caught in the rain.
    Cost me $10 so that was fine. My driver was so confused by me though 😂😂 he didn’t understand why I was by myself in Adelaide for 2 days “that is very strange” he said to me several times. Unsure if cause I’m a solo female (he was Indian and had been in Aus less than a year and that time has been covid so probs haven’t come across solo travelled yet), because Adelaide is unexciting in his view, or became my trip was so short.
    Maybe all the reasons hahah. He was lovely though.
    He dropped me off and I walked straight in. The gardens were lovely but smaller than I expected. I sat on a rock and though about God and creation for a while. ❤️
    I love Chinese and Japanese gardens. Their trees are just so much cooler lol.
    I then decided to get a DiDi to Rundle mall cause it would cost me all of $3.50
    I just walked Down the strip and popped until a few shops.
    So many goth teens. Why are 75% overweight? You do you babes but are the fishnets over your stomachs reaaaaally your best outfit option?
    There was a cool statue of a pig eating out of a bin.

    I saw an add for the graham norton show so that’s my evening plans. I decided to get a bottle of wine and do a face mask for after dinner. I walked past a homeless man near my hotel and did the whole awkward smile thing for the 5th time but thistime he asked if I had change. I said I didn’t and walked on but after I had bought my wine I decided to get out $20 and walk back to give to him. At the time he was talking to another lady so when I handed it to him I don’t think he really registered but I heard the other lady say “see” and then yell Thankyou after me as I walked away.
    Even if he buys booze. There was me holding a bottle of wine. Who am I to talk lol.
    I’ll never forget the guy I gave $2 to as a child, who nearly cried as he thanked me and immediately went to buy food.
    I feel good about my good deed. :)
    He had a bongo with him but had the skills of a 4 year old. Just banging it and seeing what sound it makes lol.

    I’m not in my hotel room writing this to get it out of the way before my relaxing evening.
    I still have to decide my itinerary for tomorrow.

    I went out to dinner at an Italian Resturant. I got sat opposite a man who kept staring at me and taking to me. Lovely but my anxiety kicked in so I stuffed my face then got the remainder to go.

    Day 3.
    I don’t know if it’s bed bugs or mozzies but I am itchyyyy. I have 4 HUGE bites. Like 5c coins and one that’s even bigger.
    I was so paranoid when trying to sleep.
    Anyways I got up and was ready to go by 9:30.
    I ordered a DiDi to take me to waterfall gully. Another chatty driver but this one I couldn’t understand. I said pardon at least 8 times but I don’t think he could understand me either.
    I decided to get a bottle of water and eat brekky at the Resturant down the bottom THANK GOD because I then started walking and fuck me 🤣 it just went up and up.
    It was a nice walk but very generic bush. I wasn’t blown away or anything but still a nice place to be.
    By the end of this walk my Fitbit recorded 145 flights of stairs 😂😂😂😂😂
    I saw a brown nosed bandicoot.
    I was walking with the same people and I learnt on girl was ON A FIRST DATE and she had no idea where he had gone and she was fucking feral about it 🤣🤣🤣 what a total wank. Just kept walking without her hahaha.
    The look out was nice, again nothing jaw dropping but I still had a really lovely time.
    The walk back down was hard in a different way. My left knee fucked up just like it did during EBC on the way down. It was so steep I was so shakey.
    The waterfall at the base is nice.
    I then got an Uber to Glenelg beach. Helen recommended it and the i suppose “main” strip was very manly vibe and lovely but the beach was shit lol.
    ALSO I was looking for something to do so I was like ok I’ll eat some chips on the beach.
    DIDNT DO CHICKEN SALT?? What unaussie BS is this.
    I bought them anyway but they were terrible so I fed them to 200 seagulls. They were very enthusiastic and stalked me afterwards. Lol
    I found a cold rock which I was pumped about so I got me some delicious ice cream.
    Phone was dying, it was quite cold so I decided so just go wait at the airport.
    I did my usual browse in the bookshop, am now writing this and will board in 30 mins.

    Overall I had a fabulous time!
    Read more