Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Zion National Park

    October 25, 2022 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 15 °C

    Had a wee sleep in this morning which was nice. Can’t do what we had planned so hardly going to take the whole day to see some stuff.
    Had a shower which was deliciously warm cause I was COLD.
    Got cracking.
    There is a shuttle bus stop outside our lodge. It was the wrong bus but long story short the driver took us to where we needed to go. (Visitors centre)
    We then got on the correct bus up the canyon. We decided to start at the top and work our way down so we got off at stop 9.
    I had heard about the boardwalk walk and asked if we could do a little bit.
    To my great surprise Will lasted the whole way.
    It was beautiful. The rock faces go up so high
    Loooove the stream. We had a debate whether it’s a creek, stream or river. I think either but not river. Lol 🤔🤔
    Lots of people wearing special pants and shoes to wade through the stream for part of their hike.
    An old bird took a long while to get 10m. Turn back, love.

    Walked back and got the shuttle down to stop 5 cause I sneakily read on someone’s map while on the bus, that there was a quick walk there too.
    Lower emerald pools walks I believe it was called.
    Beautiful. Stoked we got 2 walks in so it doesn’t feel like a wasted trip.
    We saw a wild tarantula which was pretty cool.
    Spent a solid 5 mins trying to get a good pic of me on a rock but the lighting was a bust. I blend into the trees. Need to wear Fluro.

    Will was done which was a - ok. Still so thankful. We were hungry so decided we would go to the pizza place for lunch then have cereal for dinner to keep costs down except it was closed and didn’t open for another 2 hours 😭

    Checked in AND SUCESSFULLY ADDED BAGS 🎉 thank goodness. Praise God 😭
    I have been so stressed.

    We went next door to the pizza and noodle place (which I think is a great way to say pasta)
    Actually great food. I had a garlic pizza with tomato, spinach and pineapple which was great. Not ingredients I’d normally put together.
    100 yeses to pineapple on pizza 💍😍😍

    We then came back and I literally sat in the bath for 2-3 hours just refilling it when it got a little cold. I had THE BEST TIME 😂😂😂
    Gonna have to get a bath tub in the lounge room when we build a house 👌🏻👌🏻😆😆
    I read a lot of my book.
    It’s called Summer by Audrey Gray. How do you define your favorite author? The author of your favorite series or the author you have read the most books/series from?
    For most of my favorite reads - It’s the only work of the authors I’ve read.
    this is my second series of hers and both are fabulous.
    Does this make her my fav?
    Philosophical bath questions.


    I packed before bed cause we are flying tomorrow and wanted to make sure there was some set of order to the madness.
    We don’t have to leave at 4 am to do an early check anymore yewwww so getting up at 7.

    Also fun addition to my American experience that is surely a problem to other woman and a huge oversight.
    Normally wear my period undies but for hygiene has switched back to disposables just for the trip - if you don’t know when you can next wash your stuff .. bit gross.
    ANYWAY - I think I’ve mentioned the toilet water is stupidly high here (and many countries we have been too) but I legit sat on the loo and my tampon string was less than 1cm from touching the water.
    What the actually crap. That is disgusting and has absolutely been an ongoing problem for other people. If I had relaxed a bit it would have touched.
    How is this a thing.
    Imagine your string touching but having no backup and having to keep your dirty toilet water tampon in.
    I don’t want toilet water not only touching, but remaining next to my vagina.
    Omg 🤢🤢🤢🤢

    Can’t wait to read this back in a few years.
    What a ride.
    Read more