Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Horseshoe Bend

    October 24, 2022 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 13 °C

    Slept better than expected considering we both napped. Really like the bed and pillows.
    Went over to have our free breakfast buffet - much better than yesterday it had pancakes and bacon. We both had pancakes - our waiter bothered to mention today that the tip wasn’t included booooo lol. I prefer yesterday when we left without a tip and with a free conscience lol.
    People before us only left a few $1’s so we left $3.
    Went back to our room and packed.
    -7 absolutely dying. Couldn’t be bothered getting undressed to put a bra on so opted to go without and just chucked more layers on.
    It was a very unorganized pack. Will have to redo once at Zion.
    We sat in the car for about 10 mins waiting for the ice to defrost so we could leave. We then just popped across the road to get petrol. Can’t get mad about this part because it’s my oversight and not because America is stupid like most of my other complaints but never considered petrol for the budget. It cost $70AUD for half a tank. Who needs money?
    You have to put your credit card in before you even begin putting petrol in.
    No faith in its citizens.

    We then got on our way towards Horseshoe bend in Arizona which is about a 2.5 hour detour but it’s such a famous spot and we were in vicinity so felt obliged.
    Drive was lovely. Brilliant scenery. Much more exciting than Aussie bush. The rock mountain are divine - especially when covered in snow like they were for the first 45 mins of the drive.
    Lots of little towns I couldn’t live in along the way. Population of 15 but there was one town called Kanab. Could live there, great vibe.
    It also had a Maccas. SOLD.
    I kept checking in on Will cause I was DYING. My eyes were falling out my head so I asked if he’d mind if I had a nap hahah
    Only like a 15 min one cause then we were there.
    Cost $10 to park the car then it was a 2.4km round trip.
    I didn’t realize there would be a walk so I had to sneakily put a bra on in the car park in the back seat haha.
    Relatively flat but lots of people out there with their camel packs and hiking sticks hahah.

    View both wonderful and not as WOW as I was expecting. I was expecting it further away. You can’t actually see the bottom of the horseshoe with out making a point to look down. I would like to just look forward and see it all?
    Pictures are great because it can do the 0.5 feature.
    Will was cranky and crashing so it wasn’t a happy stop. 😔
    He wants me to delete insta and fb cause I took some selfies.
    1. I have gone the last 2 years without a single photo of us minus when we bought a house. I don’t think I have an addiction problem.
    2. I want evidence I was here.
    3. We have been together 10 years how do you not know the importance of photos to me? Memories are so important.
    4. And most importantly. I don’t want selfies. I want my husband to take candid photos like I do for him but that doesn’t happen does it so Imma take my selfies. 🖕🏼🖕🏼🖕🏼

    The walk back was bad. He was so absent.
    In the car he said he was exhausted. We are going to go to the doctor in Belgium if still isn’t better.
    It’s becoming a bit of a joke now. He hasn’t had a voice for 4-5 days now. We are out of his ibuprofen he got from the doctor but still has sore throat so we bought more lozenges at Walmart. (No bad outfits to our great sadness)
    We have come to these national parks specifically to hike but can’t. 🤷🏼‍♀️😔
    We then did our Walmart trip and found food. We were going to try Denny’s until I realized it’s a Resturant and therefore needs a tip. NOPE. Off to Burger King we went.
    We are en route to Zion now with 1.5 hours to go. I want to drive but I feel so sleepy and also nervous. There isn’t enough stopping bays for my liking.

    Approx 10 mins after I wrote that Will said he wanted to change drivers 😬😬

    So I put on my big girl pants.
    Had a little cry cause I got overwhelmed by all the buttons. It’s a BMW so everything is automatic like moving the chair forward and just 100 more buttons which is scary 😆
    As I pulled out I realized I had forgotten to fix my rear view mirror and was stressed cause I didn’t know what button to press. Busy concentrating on not getting us killed to be fiddling.
    I did well I think :)
    I missed our exit… but I fixed it.
    STAY RIGHT STAY RIGHT STAY RIGHT over and over and over in my head.
    I also nearly hit a deer. I spotted it before Will started frantically signaling but he thinks I was gonna hit it.
    I was A OK until we got to the park. We paid the entry and then it became this skinny windy road with mounting goats appearing from everywhere but I was most stressed in the tunnel. It went for like 2km and it was so dark and I didn’t know which of the 100 buttons turned on my lights became twisting the knob didn’t work. Will yelled at me cause I nearly hit the wall and I yelled back I am trying my best. It was really scary.
    Dislike.
    But we made it. He had to fix my park.
    We went to the grocery store and bought some milk and cereal.
    Our room is really weird. Our bath tub is in the middle of the room.
    Had a bath. Changed my mind - great idea I can watch the telly at the same time haha
    Read more