Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 48

    Transit/Zurich

    November 30, 2022 in Switzerland ⋅ 🌧 5 °C

    Woke up to bed bug saga #2. Thankfully it’s me more affected than Will. I’ve got bites all over my knuckles which is annoying because it’s a difficult place to keep from accidentally touching and therefor scratching.
    Thankful we leave today otherwise getting to sleep tonight would be a challenge for the mind haha.

    Got a reply from our driver he would arrive in one minute so we raced out the door as he was 10 mins early.

    Waited for him on the street and a car stopped in front of us. It was our guide from yesterday.
    Put all our stuff in the boot and got in the car.
    Then said to Will “wait, I don’t think it’s the same man”
    And he agreed so we asked “are you our driver?”
    He didn’t speak English so that’s a no.
    Out we got and got our bags 😆😆😆😆😆
    Could be brothers. It’s hard to see in the dark hahahah
    Pleased he let us get back out and we weren’t kidnapped hahaha.
    Oh dear.

    Our driver, Ramin arrived 2 mins later. 😅
    Drive was quicker cause limited cars at 5:40am.
    He drove us past the F1 pit stop garages.
    We saw them yesterday but was pleased for another look.

    Gave him a tip because he has been so helpful and because to convert to money back at the airport I’ll only get $3 anyway so he can have it.

    Our check in line was straight through the front door so loved that. Line wasn’t too big either.
    Check in lady asked us if we needed a visa for Switzerland and we said no. But she did her job well and checked which was a bit nerve wracking cause it took her a while and a few people to determine we didn’t, all the while I’m thinking omg what if I made an incorrect assumption. 😅

    Got our tickets and went through customs. Got another stamp - had to take my shoes off and everyone was looking at my stripy pink socks 😂
    No food in the departures section. Booooooo.
    Will be fed on plane, hopefully it’s nice and not gross microwaved egg. (It was gross egg)
    Found a very large, expensive carpet magnet. 👀

    Ok so one of the worst flights I’ve ever had. Medically the worst.
    Graphic stories coming up:
    I needed to both poop, vomit and faint. It was the fainting part that I wasn’t coping with very well.
    But I did explode in the toilet. Do airplane toilets have water? No. Just suction. Didn’t work. Had to wipe it clean which was just the worst.

    THANK GOD there was an empty seat next to Will so I moved him over and curled in a ball for the next 1.5 hours.
    Gagging into the bag felt good.
    I skulled water. I thought maybe my blood sugar was down because I was okay lying down but when I sat up I needed to faint.
    Had little cries. Not enough space just needed to lie down but couldn’t.

    Did manage to walk off the plane but naturally it was like a kilometer walk and then because we came from a “dodgy” country we had to go through customs again. Didn’t have to do this on the way through when arriving from France.
    It was very obviously target groups of people lol.
    The alarm kept going off every 5 seconds. Potentially first time through and airport cause MAN.
    Singapore couple had a museli bar on their tray and the TSA guy took it and was like thank you.
    They were like uh??
    And he goes “problem or no problem? “
    And then he ate it………..
    Wanted to find motion sickness tablets but they didn’t t have a pharmacy.
    I found some fruit covered in chocolate. I only wanted fruit but the chocolate gave me a sugar hit in case that’s what I needed.

    Will bought ONE subway sandwich.
    FIFTY FOUR DOLLARS.

    EXCUSE ME WHAT?????????
    So that was terrific 🙃

    Went to our gate. I’ve drunk so much water trying to combat my dizziness I had to pee.
    Boarded and as soon as the seatbelt sign came off I had to pee again. I was so close to peeing myself. 4L wee honestly.
    This flight was better. I had moments of nausea and pretty soon after was dying for a wee again but had a window seat and didn’t want to bother the guy in the isle.
    Made it to the end - had a sleep - was trying to pass time cause I was BUSTING again.
    Near state of emergency had to find bathroom.
    Best 2 wee’s of my life today omg.

    Customs dude was great, liked his job. No fuss getting in.
    Caught the train to their main station. Bit of a hassle buying tickets - card declined a few times the worked fine on another machine.
    Options were confusing asking do we want 3 zones, direct route blah blah. Took a stab at it. No one checked our tickets so no arrests today.

    Walked to hotel. It’s much colder here.
    Zurich is a bit grey thus far.

    Paid.
    Paid twice actually.
    Have to ask for help tomorrow. I asked today as soon as I noticed so went downstairs and got told it’s a deposit but it’s on my two separate cards and both are the exact amount for the room.
    So $450 missing from account for the moment 🙃
    Will wait to talk to the worker who actually checked us in cause his English was excellent.
    Otherwise too hard. They don’t know what I’m showing them.

    Went for salad for dinner because it was the cheapest we could find. Still nearly $60 for 2 plates of salad. 🫠
    Switzerland is going to hurt. Bought cereal and milk (that we hope stays cold) for tomorrow morning.

    It’s 7:15 bed time thank goodness.

    Last 3 pics are walking Zurich’s old town tomorrow.
    Read more