Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 50

    Bern

    December 2, 2022 in Switzerland ⋅ ☁️ 4 °C

    Had a crappy night cause at about 1 am breeder messaged me which I replied to and knew the next message I got would be telling me if I was getting Summer or not. So didn’t sleep for the next 2 hours.
    Not Summer - got told new dogs name we get in January. This is a story in progress so might not take her but he name is RhiRhi and she is pretty cute. She would need to have 2 litters but Is apparently a better fit for Robert as she is playful.
    Timing might not work out though so we will see how it pans out.

    A very slow morning as our train didn’t come until 1. We checked out at around 11 and spoke with reception about being charged for the room twice. I showed our 2 separate bank accounts.
    He says it will come back to our account but there is a translation barrier still and I’m not feeling confident he understood completely. I have taken an email address in case. I just want my $500 back. 😭

    McDonalds for breakfast/lunch because cheapest thing in entire country and still $50.
    Waited inside the station because it was at least a degree warmer in there.
    Train ride was about an hour 15.

    Check in was a bit dodge. Could see someone in the office but had to wait until 3 before he opened the shutters. I happen to be constructing a message to the breeder at the time denying her offer to take summer for a week if RhiRhi is in heat start of January when we need to pick her up.
    I said I can’t take her if I have to give her back again. So I was crying and of course that’s when the shutters open. Awkwarddd hahah.
    Had to take the lift up one at a time cause it’s teeny tiny.
    We are very happy with our room. It’s got a tv, table, shelving and a sink and some space.
    Beds are 2 singles rather than a double so feels bigger too. Only bummer is toilet is in the corridor but hostel isn’t busy so we are only sharing in theory. Am yet to see anyone on our level.

    Went out exploring for the 40 minutes before the sun set.
    100000000 times cooler than Zurich. Have seen a couple streets and no comparison. An absolute slaughter lol.
    There is an awesome astrological clock archway - UNESCO.
    Unfortunately only walking tour available is on our last day here so I’ve booked it but might not go. Will have probably seen everything by then. 🤷🏼‍♀️
    I’d like to have more info on all the cool stuff.
    SO MANY FOUNTAINS I LOVE THEM. They are colorful 😍
    Found a sort of lookout section and some Christmas markets which we strolled through. Not nearly as jolly as when you aren’t freezing and it’s daytime.
    Went to the supermarket and bought some bread, spread, sausage and milk for us to eat breakfast and lunch at home tomorrow cause prices are genuinely ridiculous here.
    We don’t have a fridge but have put the milk outside our window in a nice 1° environment. Lol
    The view from our room is LOVELY. Even got the camera out to capture it better.

    Will wanted Mexican so we went to papa joes and I’m OBSESSED with the Resturant. It is rainbow and as if someone has gone to a garage sale and bought the most random things they could possible find and put them all together. There was a bridge, fairy lights a little fountain thing.
    LOVE.
    I really enjoyed my chicken salad - Will not fussed by his enchiladas because it had too many vegetables 😆😆
    $140 🫠🙃🙃🙃🙃🙃🙃🙃🙃

    Forgot to say yestsrday the army dudes are really chill here. Bloke just walking around the train station with his automatic weapon slung over his back. Not even holding it. Wicked dangerous bug comical.

    Went to supermarket again and added some snacks to our pile. We are having a rest day tomorrow so I can cry about Summer in peace and keep getting better. Still dizzy at times but definitely better.
    Went through another Christmas markets. Didn’t even try shopping just like the vibe.

    Currently watching the World Cup. Room is cold and I’m snug in my blanket I love it.
    Read more