Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 23

    Turin’s food!

    October 11, 2023 in Italy ⋅ 🌙 17 °C

    Walking into Turin from the train station enroute to our sobe, we stumbled upon a farmers market! I’m sure we were the only Tourists! This is my favorite thing and it gave me a great immersion into culture, people, and shopping for more than veggies: they had many clothes, shoes, household goods like sheets and blankets, Italian leather everything, some used clothes.

    The mushrooms were amazing and you can know they were locally harvested in a forest. We bought way too many of the best cashews, figs, prunes, walnuts. There were many grandmas pushing fancy carriages with infants and there was a lot of talking! No English.

    Venice train station was human at 6:30 am and our 30 minute walk was a great way to get started. ( it was yet another 18,509 step day) The train has a coffee car which I visited and it was the worst coffee (2 euros ) I’ve had but I did get it in the only paper cup I’ve used. They do serve on the train with regular cups. And I hardly ever see a paper cup. Aside from many plastic water bottles, everyone serves in ceramic.

    Later in Turin we came upon an indoor market. I love the big size squash that if you want a piece of it, just cut a piece off and then cover back with a piece of plastic. Check out the unbelievable cheese lady and I wanted some of those raviolis.

    And we are getting in the rhythm of “La Vita Lenta”!
    Read more