Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Portugaleta,Spain

    September 6, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 82 °F

    First leaving Bilbao and the Guggenheim museum. The route was all urban/ industrial. 😔. Some big string guys from New Zealand decided to taxi out of town. It was boring. The river view and breeze saved the travel.
    . Very hot as we were walking on asphalt. But one 20km today. Easy! This from the gal who always said she didn’t like hiking!
    Not many places to stop….we found one place to stop, hurray!! 13km out.! Shoes off, Socks off. Ahhhh!
    We missed a turn at a bridge/ferry more like a gondola that takes cars, bikes and pedestrians across the river. 2 of us missed this turn and walked 2.9km along the bay.
    Beaches were amazing!!! We ended up in Getxo. . Absolutely, worth the mistake!! Photos don’t do it justice.. The full 5km+ round trip when hot and sweaty wasn’t the best, but worth it to me. Besides, we were already there!
    Some have been concerned over what I can eat.
    Fresh orange juice, sometimes ledge de Avena and Cola cao- steamed oat milk and chocolate. ( sometimes 2) 😃👍. Bananas, and fruit. Sparkling waters. Water in my pack. Not hungry when walking the Camino until we stop each day. .
    I take apart sandwiches and eat the fillings. Often 2 pintxos ( amazing small sandwiches that are their ‘fast food’😃)
    I can eat at dinner and have no pride about servings. The god here is great! especially the communal diners at an Alburgue with all the other guests. Fun meeting finds from so many different countries!
    And all my vitamins. I feel great!
    Time for a shower and to hand wash clothes.
    ***
    I had a bite to eat:
    Something I want to mention is that sometimes going up a very steep climb or a steep down ( especially in mud) one can only think of the next foot step and plow pole plant. If there is a moment- Getting to the destination. A shower, clean clothes ( because every inch of you is sweat!) water, lots of water ( even though you’ve had lots).
    Other times - you realize some issues just don’t matter. No matter how big! I shared with my husband,, Ron, that a big issue for me with another person is starting to fall away. It feels trivial right now.
    Ron said I must be delirious. 😂
    Some side fun. I ventured out in a town I don’t know…. got a bite so I can last until dinner and got caught in a rain storm to beat most Seattle down pours AND found my way back to the Hostel! Pats on the back for me! One who can’t find her way out of a paper bag. 🤣. I am drenched in 3 blocks!
    Read more