Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Castro-Urdiales,Spain

    September 7, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 88 °F

    27km today. Started in an Alburgue with 8 other people. Some people we have seen on the Way.
    Like Lethia( US CITIZEN-Mexican/Spanish parents ). She was a roommate one night. We have run into her often. She has helped in ways we didn’t absorb at first. Apps. That have kept us from taking a wrong turn ( possible 5km mistakes X return) and more…. To tired to recall. 🤪
    As we Portugalete we walked beside freeways then along ( literally beside) highways was not perfect but the vistas were amazing! The walk was correctly described as mostly rolling hills was an accurate description! Actually railroad grade this time! There were 200 stairs, a few steep inclines and downhill ventures. But a breeze compared to the first week. Also, some confusing signage.
    We did find a hidden away place to eat lunch with an astounding view. ( not always something we get-often it’s a quick caffe/coffee and onward. For me a banana and sparkling water)
    Wait! Let’s go back to Portugalete-last evening. Of my two travelers- one hadn’t slept a wink due to finding bed bugs at 2am and sleeping in the reception area couch. The other
    was also exhausted. I for some strange reason had to go get something to ea at 5:30pm😃. I ( who can’t fund my way out of a paper bag). Decided to return to where we had had a glass of wine so I could order Pintxo ( small sandwiches ) in order to take it apart as I can’t eat the bread or cheese. Everything was closed until 7pm. Most 8pm. I looked up other restaurants, etc. as I was very hungry.. S I have up a few drops of rain fell. And then the rain came flooding down. The locals were under over hangs out in doorways. I sheltered also. After a few minutes I thought I sound just head back as ( amazing I could tell) the Alburgue was 3 blocks away. And it was 93 degrees. I hugged buildings. Actually thought twice before crossing the final street as It looked like it could possibly take my footing. As I hit the door which needs a door code -more time in drenching rain, etc . Tammy was peaking out door wondering if I was alone and scared under a bridge somewhere out of the rain. 😄
    Back to today- I added a few more km on to my trip as I volunteered to find a laundromat for our really sweaty clothes.
    The lavandaria all directed me to is closed. 😩. So sweaty clothes will be traveling tomorrow. Not on us. 🤣
    We are in Castro for the evening then on to Laredo.
    Castro is a small coastal town that is so clean, welcoming and beautiful with wonderful people! It should be on a bucket list!!
    Read more